HAL 9000 lives!

In the past 48 hours I have:

  • updated Norton Internet Security
  • fixed the one tiny little buried option in NIS that was making Yahoo Mail Beta not work
  • updated Adobe Reader from the top secret ftp site that actually works
  • updated my mp3 player software, driver, firmware, and plugins
  • updated Windows Media Player
  • installed OverDrive Media Console
  • downloaded an audio book from my library (wheee!)
  • uninstalled the old stuff

Needless to say, this was all about as straightforward as a Cretan labyrinth. The manufacturers’ various “help” services were, of course, no help at all. I would have willingly stepped out of the airlock were it not for the online user forums that seem to be able to answer the most obscure and complicated software issues. It’s amazing what you can find out by Googling those mysterious error messages.

So now it looks like everything is finally working. I’d like to explain what OverDrive Media Console does. It allows me to download audiobooks from my public library and put them on my mp3 player (or burn to disc, if I like). The selection isn’t that great yet, but the 20-hour Classical Music 101 will be a nice start. Computers are a wonder…when they work!

2 comments on “HAL 9000 lives!

  1. Stefanie says:

    Thank goodness for user forums! I find that's where I get the answers I need more often than not. and thanks for reminding me that I need to go check my library's online services!

  2. Jill says:

    That kind of expertise is somewhat intimidating. I am impressed!

Comments are closed.