Canada, Land of Wonders

The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation is on a great quest to name the Seven Wonders of Canada. They were inspired by the New Seven Wonders of the World project (which is still underway). Canadians aren’t as overtly patriotic as, well, some North Americans, but when the CBC asked people to name their favourite Canadian wonders, they were inundated with over 20,000 nominations full of passion for our country. It is often said that Canadians are people of the land, and that has certainly come out in this process. Me, I nominated a tree. And I wasn’t the only one. In fact some trees made it to the final 50. That’s us.

I’m a little disappointed that certain things didn’t make it to the final list. The igloo, for instance. So many people think we live in them that they really should be on the list. And where’s the water? The St. Lawrence, the Fraser, the Great Lakes, the bazillion lakes of Mozzytoba? I might forgive the CBC if the vessel that has plied those waters for millennia, the canoe, makes it to the final seven.

I was pleased to see that the Library of Parliament made it to the short list. But will I vote for it? I don’t know, there are too many wonders to choose from. Here are my favourites:

I could have included Vancouver Island’s Cathedral Grove but the only wonder about it is that it never got logged. The whole south-eastern plain of the Island was once covered in gigantic Douglas-firs. I almost left off Haida Gwaii for a similar reasonβ€”the whole mainland coast was just as ecologically and culturally rich, but its accessiblity made for a quicker demise. The list of wonders we’ve lost is probably just as long as the list of wonders we still have. We had to nominate the priaire skies because the prairies themselves are now Monsanto monocultures. The Northern Lights now shine on massive clearcuts, strip mines, and oil rigs. Even the Rockies are shrinking as they get sliced and diced by loggers and miners looking for quick profits. Nevertheless it is good to celebrate what we still have and reconnect to our great land. What do you think are Canada’s greatest wonders?

EDIT: It looks like the igloo and the Museum of Civilization have been added to the list, both of which definitely deserve to be there. Well done, CBC!

7 comments on “Canada, Land of Wonders

  1. Antony says:

    My vote for the final seven, in no particular order would go to:
    Bay of Fundy
    Mt. Thor
    Niagara Falls
    The Rockies
    The Canoe
    Trans Canada Hwy
    Candian Pacific Railroad
    But if they had made the cut, I would replace the railroad on that list with the gazillion lakes of Manitoba.
    Canada rules!

  2. Sylvia says:

    Sorry, but the railway didn't make the list, unless you count the spiral tunnels in Yoho. (I've been there, they're cool. You can see the train going in one end and coming out underneath itself.) The CP should be on the list, considering it united the country in the beginning, and it was an engineering marvel (though not so marvellous for the labourers who died building it).

  3. Stefanie says:

    Maybe it's just me, but none of the links on your list of favorites works. I think the people of Canada should be added to the list of wonders. Canadians are some of the nicest, big-hearted people I've ever met. I like that you nominated a tree. Trees are pretty wonderful πŸ™‚

  4. Dark Orpheus says:

    I laughed when I first read about nominating a tree – but only for a second. Then I smiled with admiration at the Canadians who respect the grand old trees enough to regard them as Wonders. They are Wonders. Better than any man-made structure can ever be.
    I've never been to Canada, but after your post I wonder if I should travel to Canada for a look-see. What will I find, I wonder?
    Now, about the igloos… πŸ˜‰

  5. Milan says:

    Fond as I am of the Coast Mountains near my native Vancouver, I think The Rockies definitely deserve to be on the list.

  6. Sylvia says:

    Thanks for telling me about the links, Stefanie! They're fixed now. Incidentally, some did nominate Canadians as a wonder of Canada, but, humble as always, we didn't make the short list.

  7. […] I reported earlier, the CBC has been on a quest to choose the Seven Wonders of Canada. After 25,000 nominations, more […]

Comments are closed.