Concerning Hobbits

The Lord of the Rings

The next leg of my Once Upon a Time reading quest begins with my new 50th anniversary edition of The Lord of the Rings. The note on the text explains that over the years numerous errors crept into the various editions of LOTR and that these have now been  corrected against Tolkien’s own manuscripts and proofs. It is also correct to have published it as one book, as originally intended, though the table of contents includes the titles of the three volumes as previously published.

This is only my second time reading it, so I expect it will be just as delightful and sleep-delaying as the first time. Reading LOTR and Don Quixote at the same time might be dangerous, though. Here’s hoping I don’t succumb to Manchegan Madness

11 comments on “Concerning Hobbits

  1. Nick says:

    Have no fear! The Manchegan Madness Blog is here! I got inspired today to create this support blog for all those who suffer from MM:
    http://mancheganmadness.blogspot.com

  2. Sylvia says:

    LOL! May you receive much mathom for your efforts!

  3. Tom Bombadil says:

    Manchegan madness?
    Sounds like some sort of neurological disorder brought on by a particularly virulent strain of Manchego cheese mold.

  4. Éowyn says:

    This could get very silly…

  5. Milan says:

    People who are both Mac users and Tolkien fans may be amused to see the results of entering the following command into the Terminal program located in Applications>Utilities:
    cat /usr/share/calendar/calendar.history | grep “LOTR”

  6. Chuck says:

    Oooo, you're so lucky to have an official reason to reread LOTR. I'm jealous. I'm counting the months until I can allow myself to crack it open again. About five to go.

  7. Stefanie says:

    I am drooling over your book! I must get one for myself!

  8. Marina says:

    Interesting that LOTR needed “fixing” from years of little mistakes. Maybe I should get this version for my husband for Christmas (along with the latest that C. Tolkien edited).

  9. Quixotic says:

    I'm getting the feeling that I need to revisit LoTR again soon…which is bad, because I have so many other books to read…

  10. Carl V. says:

    I'm envious, I really want to read more LOTR stuff right now, having just whet my appetite with Children of Hurin, but I really need to get some other reading done first.

  11. Imani says:

    I have to get to the store this weekend to get Hurin! And I needed another copy of LOTR like my first one, with the John Howe illustration of Gandalf, and the pretty golden border with elvish runes all around? It costs the earth but it's beauuuutiful.

What do you think?

