Reading Advice for Hypochondriacs

Always read stuff that will make you look good if you die in the middle of it.

β€”P.J. O’Rourke

After reading this it also occurred to me that after we die everyone will assume that we read everything on our shelves, so we should definitely keep buying all those books we want to read “some day”!

via Book Chase

10 comments on “Reading Advice for Hypochondriacs

  1. Jill says:

    I quite agree — just because it took me fifteen years to get around to Tennyson's Idylls of the King shouldn't mean that I refrain from buying the lovely collector's edition which has sat on my shelf in its slipcase for that same timeframe.

  2. Kailana says:

    Man, I am still alive and people assume that I have read all the books that I own. I don't bother to correct them. lol They don't have to know the amount read and not read… they can think I am super smart and read everything that I buy. *cough*

  3. Beth says:

    And the corollary is: Never keep around those books you buy and read for guilty pleasure. Get rid of 'em as soon as you're done!
    Uh, yes, this is an admission that I sometimes read something other than literature …

  4. Danielle says:

    …not that I need another reason to justify my book buying habits…but thanks for sharing that quote! πŸ™‚

  5. Carl V. says:

    That is true, having books all over the place does tend to give the impression that one reads alot! πŸ™‚

  6. Sylvia says:

    Very naughty of you, Kailana!
    Excellent point, Beth!

  7. JCR says:

    This is a funny post. I hope people find the fact that I read Paul Auster and Haruki Murakami sort of hip… I am sure they'll cringe when they see all my Hemingways πŸ™‚

  8. Ashlee says:

    I never thought of it that way before! I'm not quite sure, though, if I like it nor not. ^_^

  9. Stefanie says:

    heh, love the quote and the way you use it to justify buying books. And if people are daft enough to believe I've read all the books on my shelves, well, I'm not going to correct them!

  10. Quixotic says:

    Haha! I love this idea. An excellent addition to the justifications for my bookbuying antics. *grin*

Comments are closed.