Gabo Turns Eighty

Gabo80 Gabriel García Márquez was honoured at the International Spanish Language Congress in Cartagena, Colombia over the weekend in honour of his 80th birthday. Kings, Presidents, and thousands of adoring fans showered him with admiration for his work, particularly Cien Años de Soledad (100 Years of Solitude), which was called the most important novel in Spanish since Don Quixote. The Real Academia Española presented Gabo with a new annotated 40th anniversary edition of Cien Años. (The only other book they’ve published in this way is, you guessed it,  Don Quixote).

You can read his address here, that is, if you can read Spanish. Since this is also the 25th anniversary of his Nobel Prize, Anglophones may enjoy reading his address at that august occasion. There are also photos of the festivities in Cartagena, and may I say, I hope I am in that kind of shape at 80!

via Latin Americanist

UPDATE: I forgot to mention that Amazon has the Real Academia Española editions of Don Quijote de la Mancha and Cien Años de Soledad at insanely low prices. When was the last time you got a 1300 page hardcover critical edition for ten (US) bucks? Even with my shaky Spanish it’s too good to pass up.

5 comments on “Gabo Turns Eighty

  1. wil says:

    I've been thinking about reading Márquez for awhile now. I might ease in with some of his short stories.

  2. Sylvia says:

    Whatever you do, don't read “Chronicle of a Death Foretold” on a full stomach…

  3. Oh! I just love, love, looooooooove Gabo!

  4. JCR says:

    I really enjoy Garcia Marquez. I still remember my first reading of “One Hundred Years of Solitude” while going back and forth between the cities of Osaka and Hikone in Japan. That book changed my life, as I am sure it has changed so many others. What I am a little disappointed at is his political views. It is true that a writer and his views of the world are inseparable, the fact that he supports oppresive regimes like Castro's is of concern to me.

  5. Sylvia says:

    I'm afraid I'm with Gabo on Cuba. How many dictators do you know who give their people free health care and free university education while under severe financial contraints? Most people in democratic countries of the South are far worse off than the Cubans and suffer real political and economic oppression. The world could use more leaders like Castro who care more about their compatriots than about lining their pockets. I know the US, wealthy ex-pats, and corporate interests can't wait to get in there and rape the country (especially now that they've found oil) but I for one hope they never do.

What do you think?

