My New Baby

One of the (few) downfalls of my two world history textbooks is the lack of maps, at least for ancient times, so you see I just had to purchase the Oxford Atlas of World History to get the lay of the land. This magnificent cellulose confection tells me, among other things, that the lapis lazuli that was made into cylindrical seals (the precursors to writing) by ancient Sumerians came from the western Himalayas. That’s a long way to go for pretty blue rocks!

Oxford Atlas of World History

5 comments on “My New Baby

  1. Wil Cone says:

    I have the National Geographic Atlas of World History and The Times Concise Atlas of World History, but I'm not in love with either one of them. I want gorgeous, rich, voluptuous maps – and lots of them. I wonder if anyone produces a high-quality CD/DVD atlas, something that brings grown cartographers to weep at its sheer beauty?

  2. Sylvia says:

    If you find it, let me know! This is the only historical atlas I've seen so I can't compare, but it has gotten rave reviews. It's also the only major one in print, although the big discount at Amazon.com suggests it may be on its way out.

  3. Ian says:

    I'm jealous. I'm stuck with only my paperback copy of The New History of the World which suffers with poorly rendered grayscale maps featuring indistinguishable levels of crosshatching and tiny unreadable type. Funny, you'd think as a graphic artist I'd like tiny unreadable type.

  4. Sylvia says:

    Ya, those maps are pretty bad. You'd think that such an important work would have decent maps. I for one definitely need to have a good visual sense of the geography associated with the history; otherwise I find it hard to keep everything straight.

  5. Darmok says:

    I recently bought the Oxford Atlas of World History, too; I too need to see things to understand them, especially when they refer to cities and geographic features I'm not very familiar with.

Comments are closed.