Jane Eyre Give-Away

In honour (so to speak) of the new BBC adaptation of Jane Eyre, I have decided to give away one of my (many) copies of the book. On offer is the 2003 Penguin Classics edition in unmarked but used condition. As mentioned before, this edition was not my favourite among paperback classics but it does have the most thorough endnotes describing vocabulary, literary allusions, and the possible real-life equivalents of the people and places in the book. To win this literary pearl just leave a comment saying why I should send you the book. I’ll pick a deserving recipient after part two of the new Jane Eyre airs on Sunday night. Good luck!

Jane Eyre

7 comments on “Jane Eyre Give-Away

  1. Wil Cone says:

    I'd like a copy to serve as contrepoint to my “Soldier of Fortune” collection.

  2. Milan says:

    I have way too much unread fiction sitting around to legitimately request this.
    Probably, the kind of person who would benefit most would never ask.

  3. Imani says:

    OooOOoo. I don't know if I qualify for “benefit most” description but I certainly would love to have it. My own school copy lies is enjoying tropical weather far, far away.
    Besides that I've long been a fan of Penguins Classics, professed reservations aside. The perfect choice of cover art–Rebecca Solomon's “The Governess”–which tells its own story. And the satisfaction of the reader to know that, despite Solomon's subject, our Jane's fate was not one of traditional drudgery. I just like how Penguin's aesthetic vision usually seems rooted in true knowledge of the texts, shows some effort, rather than a boring ol' photo of Ye Olde English Countryside or some beheaded corseted woman holding a pen or such other claptrap.
    The excellence of the book in question goes without saying.

  4. Sylvia says:

    Heh, you are so right about ye olde English countryside! Definitely kudos to Penguin for the cover art.

  5. Becky LaMere says:

    Just wanted to say that Jane Eyre is my favorite book. I'm watching the pbs version too. I plan on buying it in Feb. when it goes on sale.
    ~Becky

  6. […] could I resist Imani’s expressive “OooOOoo”? The book is yours, Cinnimani, if you’ll just e-mail me an address I can send it to. (Sorry Wil, your […]

What do you think?

