Either-Or Meme

I saw this choice meme at Danielle’s place:

Hardback or trade paperback or mass market paperback? 
Hardback for reference and favourites, trade pb for everything else.

Amazon or brick and mortar? 
Definitely Amazon. Stores don’t have the selection or the prices.

Barnes & Noble or Borders? 
N/A in Canada. Our two big chains merged.

Bookmark or dogear? 
Horrors! Bookmark, of course!

Alphabetize by author or alphebetize by title or random? 
Fiction by author, nonfiction by subject.

Keep, throw away, or sell? 
Keep, mostly. (Note to self: build more bookshelves.)

Keep dustjacket or toss it? 
Keep.

Read with dustjacket or remove it? 
Remove; they’re too slippery. I’ve dropped my Gardner’s Art Through the Ages twice because of the glossy dj. Grrr.

Short story or novel? 
Novel. I haven’t read short stories since school, not that that’s a good thing.

Collection (short stories by same author) or anthology (short stories by different authors)?
I’m sure both would be interesting.

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket? 
I tried HP but was disgusted by the anti-Muggleism (Mugglephobia?). I don’t like the idea of teaching children that it’s OK for one group of people to put down and feel superior to another group of people. I’m no expert but I believe that’s called “racism.” Is Lemony Snicket good?

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks?
When tired, although I pause at chapter breaks to see if I can last another chapter.

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”? 
Dark and stormy night. Mad wives in attics optional.

Buy or Borrow? 
Yes.

New or used? 
Yes.

Buying choice: book reviews, recommendation or browse? 
I rely heavily on the customer reviews at Amazon.

Tidy ending or cliffhanger? 
Tidy endings. I don’t like being manipulated into reading the next book.

Morning reading, afternoon reading or nighttime reading? 
Yes.

Standalone or series?
I generally prefer standalone books (see Tidy endings, above).

Favorite series? 
Lord of the Rings. Ya, I know, it was supposed to be one book…

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard? 
The Arrogance of Humanism by David Ehrenfeld.

Favorite books read last year?
A Loeb Classical Library Reader was a real hoot. Genesis and Exodus were interesting too.

Favorite books of all time?
Pride and Prejudice and Persuasion are right up there. Also the dictionary. Maurice by E.M. Forster. The Saint John’s Bible. I like to think I am yet to read many of my favourites.

All are invited to play along!

13 comments on “Either-Or Meme

  1. Danielle says:

    Oh yeah, definitely the madwoman in the attic. I try and read the Amazon reviews after I have read the book as I don't want the story to be spoiled…I'm probably doing it in the wrong order, but I can't help myself. Persuasion was one of the best books I read last year. I am already looking forward to reading it again!

  2. Ian says:

    Hey, it's My First Blog Meme. Thanks, Sylvia. I feel like a real blogger now.

  3. Imani says:

    Ooo, Oooo I'm doing that one.
    But poor Harry Potter! I believe there is some good-natured mockery of the poor muggles but any “racist” sentiments came from the Voldermort (Voldemort? Voldamaditty?) and his odious crew. Certainly our Hermione has muggle parents but without her Harry Potter would have been dead ages ago.
    I'm doing this meme, of course.

  4. Ted says:

    You picked Maurice as one of your favorite books! How wonderful. I adore Forster.
    I'm working on this meme now, and it will be my first one as well. Thanks for the post.

  5. Stefanie says:

    Heh, I like the ones you just answered “yes” too 🙂

  6. Sylvia says:

    Hi Ted. Another Maurice fan! Cool. 🙂

  7. Chuck says:

    You prefer shopping online?? Shameful! The purists will hate you for that. But I'm with you.

  8. Sylvia says:

    What can I say, I'm cheap and picky.

  9. Legolas says:

    I don't hate you, even if you are a dwarf with short, stubby legs and a small brain.

  10. Zedd says:

    I have to disagree with your comment that Harry Potter books are “teaching children that it's OK for one group of people to put down and feel superior to another group of people”.
    If you read more carefully you will realise that it's the bad guys that have this mentality.
    Love your meme answers (yes). Happy reading…

  11. Sylvia says:

    I don't think I got to the bad guys in Harry Potter. I didn't get past Harry's rescue from the world of the muggles.

  12. Imani says:

    I can't fault anyone for giving up on the Harry Potter series on reading the first two books. They're horribly simple (in the worst sense) in every respect for anyone over 8 years or so.

  13. Imani says:

    Er….no offense to anyone over 8 who liked 'em.

Comments are closed.