Go on, don’t be afraid!

Who (or what) is lurking out there?Apparently this is International Delurking Week, so I invite all lurkers to say hello in the comments. Feedburner tells me I have 120 subscibers—who on earth are you? Don’t be shy, many of us are awkward introverts so we won’t hold it against you if you can’t come up with something wildly witty to say. If all else fails, give us a quote from your favourite book. Thanks for dropping by!

25 comments on “Go on, don’t be afraid!

  1. tony says:

    You know I'm not strictly a lurker, I've commented before. But Hi, anyway!

  2. Dorothy W. says:

    I'm not a lurker either, but I will say hello!

  3. Phoebe says:

    *de-lurks* Hello! I enjoy your blog and am one of the 120. 🙂 *re-lurks*

  4. Antony says:

    Totally not a lurker, but honored to be a friend.

  5. Lady Oone says:

    TY for your informative and thought-provoking posts.
    “Alas, where is human nature so weak as in the bookstore – Henry Ward Beecher

  6. renee says:

    hello. I'm subscriber #108. Love your blog!

  7. Milan says:

    I leave comments all the time, but am happy to be enumerated here.

  8. turtlebella says:

    120 subscribers! Holy batman! Regular commenter, you know. But I really like the quote left by Lady Oona…that SO describes my life.

  9. timrooch says:

    I am a lurker. Thanks for all the great articles and links.
    *People say life is the thing, I prefer reading. -Logan Pearsall Smith

  10. Travis says:

    “Books cannot be killed by fire. People die, but books never die. No man and no force can put thought in a concentration camp forever. No man and no force can take from the world the books that embody man's eternal fight against tyranny. In this war, we know, books are weapons.”
    – Franklin D. Roosevelt
    http://www.eliillinois.org/00001_00/main/ww20050p/ww20050p.jpg

  11. JaneFan says:

    I think I've commented and/or linked before, but hello from JaneFan at the Austen-tatious blog!
    Maybe I should invite my readers to delurk as well – I get plenty of visits, but few comments 😦

  12. Sylvia says:

    Hi Hi! Thanks for the comments and quotes. Keep 'em coming!

  13. Ian says:

    Another FeedBurner subscriber. Great Blog. I especially appreciate your jampacked sidebar. And the latin. I made a half-hearted attempt at it once after reading The Name of the Rose. Half-hearted as in half an hour.

  14. Rosangela says:

    Hi! English is my second language and it makes me insecure (to write mostly). So, I think I am a lurker.

  15. Sylvia says:

    Thanks Ian, the sidebar is one of the main reasons I started blogging: I wanted to share all the great resources I had found in my cybertravels. It continues to evolve and I try to show only the cream of the crop. Suggestions are always welcome!

  16. Darmok says:

    I'm not strictly a lurker, but I don't think I've ever succeeded in posting a comment; every time I type one, if I try to enter characters using ALT-codes, your site does something weird when I hit ALT-1, and goes back to the main page, and I lose my comment. (And then lose interest.) I think it's a Typepad thing.
    Anyway, I couldn't possibly pick just one quote, but here's one of my favorites, from The Return of the King:
    “There, peeping among the cloud-wrack above a dark tor high up in the mountains, Sam saw a white star twinkle for a while. The beauty of it smote his heart, as he looked up out of the forsaken land, and hope returned to him. For like a shaft, clear and cold, the thought pierced him that in the end the Shadow was only a small and passing thing: there was light and high beauty for ever beyond its reach.”

  17. Sylvia says:

    Nice quote! Sorry about the technical glitch, Darmok. When I hit ALT-1 I get a smiley face, but I have my keyboard set to multilingual.

  18. Heather T. says:

    I think I've commented before but thought I'd delurk in case I hadn't before!

  19. Danielle says:

    Hello. I lurk a lot, but I comment sometimes, too! 🙂

  20. Jason says:

    Hello. I am not a subscriber, but I have posted before.

  21. Camille says:

    Hi! Just found you today via Danielle at “A Work in Progress.” I'm looking forward to coming back. 🙂

  22. Cam says:

    Hi. Don't know if I've commented here before or not so I may be semi-delurking.

  23. Sylvia says:

    Thanks to all the lurkers, semi-lurkers, and not-really-lurkers for leaving a note. Feel free to comment any time!

  24. Christine says:

    I'm a lurker. I used to read your site regularly, but then we got a puppy. Now I am three months behind on everything, including my rss feeds. *sigh* But anyway, I'm one of your RSS subscribers.

  25. Seesaw says:

    Subscriber since 2007. Honored to be a friend!

Comments are closed.