The Pleasures and Mysteries of Reading on the BBC

I caught an interesting discussion on reading last night on the BBC World Service:

The Word: How to Read Special

Not the mechanical process, but how to understand what’s going on in a book; we examine what authors pass on to the reader beyond the story, the craft and techniques of the writer, and why poetry is essential to living.

The guests are Alberto Manguel, John Mullan and Josephine Hart.

The podcast will be up until next Tuesday. Enjoy!

8 comments on “The Pleasures and Mysteries of Reading on the BBC

  1. turtlebella says:

    Oh, seems interesting, especially given what I blogged about not too long ago (Orhan Pamuk). Will give a listen. Thanks for passing that along! (I did listen to the 'cast of The Theban Plays that you linked to awhile back- fab!)

  2. Wil Cone says:

    Not sure if they need to learn “How to Write” or I need to learn “How to Read,” but I read your title not as “'How to Read' Special,” but as “How to read special” (i.e., “How to read good!”). 🙂

  3. Sylvia says:

    Yes, there is certainly some punctuation or formatting called for there. Tsk tsk, BBC.

  4. Andrew says:

    Link doesn't work for me (takes me to the news), and listen in stand-alone player has nothing there 😦

  5. Sylvia says:

    Hmm, it works for me (in IE7). Well, you can browse to “Programs” and pick “The Word” and that should have the link to the podcast.

  6. Stefanie says:

    Ooohh, very nifty. I will definitely give it a listen. Thanks for the alert!

  7. Danielle says:

    Thanks for the link–I will have to listen to it later!

  8. Veloc says:

    Just listened to it, very interesting .

Comments are closed.