Calvino Meme

This has got to be one of the best book memes ever. Thanks to Kate for pulling a passage out of Italo Calvino’s If on a winter’s night a traveller in which he categorizes the books in a bookshop in a particularly meaningful way. Here are some of the books in my Calvinoesque bookstore:

Books You’ve Been Planning To Read For Ages
Did I mention The Plan?

Books You’ve Been Hunting For Years Without Success
The Oxford World’s Classics 1999 edition of Pride and Prejudice (in decent condition at a decent price)

Books Dealing With Something You’re Working On At The Moment
Movement Never Lies by Karen Kain (to nurture my inner ballerina)

Books You Want To Own So They’ll Be Handy Just In Case
Oxford Atlas of History, 501 Latin Verbs, Medicine for Mountaineering

Books You Need To Go With Other Books On Your Shelves
Shakespeare’s Use of the Arts of Language, The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare, A Theater of Envy: William Shakespeare (to go with my Norton Shakespeare)

Books Read Long Ago Which It’s Now Time To Reread
I don’t know if 10 years is “long ago” but it is definitely time I re(re)read everything by Tom Brown Jr.

Books That If You Had More Than One Life You Would Certainly Also Read But Unfortunately Your Days Are Numbered
I can’t answer this because am still in denial about my mortality (there are books in Heaven, right?)

Books You Mean To Read But There Are Others You Must Read First
Everything written since the invention of the codex!

I wish I had better answers since this meme has so much potential. I look forward to reading everyone else’s answers. If you want to play, do go to Kate’s post to see the complete list of categories.

One comment on “Calvino Meme

  1. tony says:

    Someone said (was it C. S. Lewis?) the only books you will have in heaven are those you lent to someone else (and probably never got back.)

Comments are closed.