Amazon, you get coal in your stocking this year!

I’ve been anticipating the Amazon.ca “Boxing week” sale for weeks. After last year’s incredible haul I was expecting more great deals. I even stopped buying new books in case something on my wish list came up for sale.

As it turns out, my bookish anticipation was entirely in vain. This year’s sale is a complete wash! The highest discount to be found is 50%. Imagine! And guess how many books are offered at that level? Thirteen in fiction, eleven in nonfiction. That’s it. To think that last year I got good textbooks, atlases, and the Encyclopaedia Britannica, for 70% off! What happened, Amazon?

I’m also disgusted that the “after”-Christmas sales (at Amazon and elsewhere) started on Christmas Eve. The already smudged line between shopping for others and shopping for oneself seems to have been erased. It looks like the merchants have won the battle for Christmas (not that there was much doubt about it). Personally, I don’t think religious observances belong on a state calendar, but can you imagine the outcry from retailers if anyone tried to abolish Christmas as a national holiday? It would be the end of civilization as we know it! But maybe that would be a good thing.

During the festive meals of these days let us remember the Lord’s words: “When you give a dinner or a banquet, do not invite those who will invite you in return, but invite those whom no one invites and who are not able to invite you” [Lk 14:12-14]. This also means: when you give gifts for Christmas, do not give only to those who will give to you in return, but give to those who receive from no one and who cannot give you anything back.

—Pope Benedict XVI, Christmas homily 2006

6 comments on “Amazon, you get coal in your stocking this year!

  1. Heather says:

    Thanks for that quote from the Pope. I think it is so important to remember that the whole year. (Too bad about the 'non' sale at amazon.ca)

  2. Andrew says:

    Ugh, I know what you mean. I keep on going back to the site hoping they've renounced their misguided ways and started a proper sale!

  3. Stefanie says:

    Maybe they will surprise you with a New Year's sale?
    Like the Pope quote.

  4. Talmida says:

    Chapters.indigo.ca emailed me claiming 85% off at their boxing week sale — you might check them out.

  5. Andrew says:

    Unfortunately I didn't win a $500 gift cert for Indigo's :p

  6. Sylvia says:

    Ya, Santa forgot to bring me my gift certificate too!
    I had a look at ChaptersIndigoWhatever and they seem to be picked clean. Just about everything is sold out. I suppose the sale started Christmas Eve. Grrrr.

Comments are closed.