A Plea from a Biographer

Plea from a Biographer by Posy Simmonds The recent comments about how blogs will be lost to history unless they are printed out reminded me of this gem from a ways back. Click the image to read A Plea from a Biographer to Men and Women of Attainment by Posy Simmonds (published online at The Guardian).

via Journalisimo

7 comments on “A Plea from a Biographer

  1. Chuck says:

    It's a good thing I'm no “man of attainment” because I don't write more than three or four letters a year. I don't keep letters I receive, either. Dare I admit I disposed of a whole box of old letters this summer, maybe ten year's worse from one person? Am I beyond the pale?

  2. Stefanie says:

    I still write a few letters and I keep I letters I receive. I have gotten into the habit of saving my email correspondence with friends. This is not because I think someone will write a biography of me–love the bigrapher's plea!–but for the same reasons I kept paper letters from these same friends. Evidence and a reminder of our friendship.
    Chuck, your letter disposal made me gasp!

  3. Sylvia says:

    I gasped too! I also tend to keep letters and emails. I even have notes that friends and I passed to each other in high school! When I read them I wonder how anyone ever took us seriously!

  4. Chuck says:

    Sorry, I had to, both for housecleaning and personal reasons.

  5. I love your blog book idea, this is especially great for homeschoolers! What a great way to document a year in homeschooling if the (ahem) author of the blog does a good job of documenting it.
    I guess I better make a new category! You might be a little disappointed in Bushnell's book, it's different than SATC. Thank goodness for reruns!
    Merry Christmas friend,
    Jessica

  6. Milan says:

    Thanks for all your entertaining posts this year. I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas.

  7. Sylvia says:

    Thank you, and to you and yours as well!

Comments are closed.