Speed Dating at the Library

The state library of Victoria in Melbourne introduced dating with a literary twist after the idea was raised at a staff party.

Those who attend must bring a book they either love or loathe as a conversation starter, ensuring there are no uneasy silences during the series of five-minute dates. [read more]

It sounds like a good idea, but it wouldn’t work for me because you’re only supposed to bring one book! One book couldn’t possibly represent the many facets of my amazing (?) personality. But carrying a stack of books around wouldn’t be very conducive to speed dating, and it would take more than 5 minutes to explain them all. I guess that sort of event just isn’t designed for the long-winded bibliophile!

via Mirabilis

5 comments on “Speed Dating at the Library

  1. Stefanie says:

    It is a good idea for the bookish. Maybe those who can't choose just one book could pick a book at random and then spend the 5 minute date explaining why one book is not enough. Of course, that might scare the date away, but if he/she is of like mind there will certainly be a mutual understanding.

  2. JaneFan says:

    I agree – a whole stack may scare them off! But then again, if this event is really attracting literary types, then they all likely had the same problem.
    You could always bring a book you loathe – if their “love” is your “loathe” then you probably aren't compatible!

  3. Heather says:

    I've always poo-pooed speed dating but with a bookish angle like this I might be more likely to try it…I'd have to bring more than one book too.

  4. turtlebella says:

    This is hilarious! I would never have done speed-dating in a million years, being the introverted type. But talking about books, THAT I could do!

  5. Sylvia says:

    Yes, I suspect there would be a good proportion of introverts at an event like that. Extroverts probably don't have much trouble meeting people!

Comments are closed.