Hard Copy

Blogbook

This is what a year’s worth of blogging looks like. I had my blogging from 2005 printed out at my surly neighbourhood Staples and the result is a surprisingly thick bundle of bloggy memories. Unfortunately, it ended up costing more than using a self-publisher like Blurb, but it required zero reformatting and looks exactly as it does on screen.

It’s fun to flip through the 100 or so pages but I wonder: if I keep up this blogging for any length of time, the print-outs are going to start taking up a lot of room. Not to mention that the money I spend on printing could be spent on books! Perhaps I’ll be more selective in future and print out only book reviews and similarly weighty posts. The memes and quizzes will just have to fade into the past.

12 comments on “Hard Copy

  1. Danielle says:

    How cool–do the sidebars always stay the same? It is nice that you do this–the bad thing about a blog is that if your blog disappears then so does all the content–surely a historian's nightmare.

  2. Milan says:

    Digital backup seems a more cost effective (and tree friendly) option. That said, it is less fun to skim through a DVD, external hard drive, or offsite backup folder than a volume of printed matter.

  3. Stefanie says:

    Pretty! Are all the comments in there too?

  4. Sylvia says:

    Danielle, the sidebars come out just as they are on the day I send them to the printer.
    Milan, this is intended as a long-term souvenir. I wouldn't expect a DVD to still be viewable in 20 years (or even 5!). That is the problem with electronic archives–they go obsolete in no time.
    Stefanie, I was afraid someone would ask me that! I didn't include the comments because that would at least double the amount of paper. It's unfortunate. Perhaps in future if I only print out selected posts I will be able to include everyone's contributions. πŸ™‚

  5. Jill says:

    It seems like a really attractive way to capture one's blog. I always think about theimpact on the historical record if blogs should suddenly disappear. Blogs give such a glimpse into a person's daily life.

  6. Stefanie says:

    Sorry to make you spill the beans about the comments πŸ™‚

  7. Tamara says:

    Would you mind elaborating a little on the steps you took to get this printed? I had my blog printed last year but it was rather a time consuming process. I'd be very intrigued at learning “how” you did this step by step πŸ™‚ If I'm asking too much, please forgive me. I try to learn everything that I can to make educated decisions. I love having my printed copy and it is a treasure forever that no book written by anyone else could compare…writings from our hearts for future generations. Thank you πŸ™‚

  8. Sylvia says:

    Hi Tamara. It was really quite easy. The way Staples does it is you set up an account at their copy and print website and follow the instructions to download a printer driver to your computer. Then you just print the pages you want and choose the Staples printer driver in the print dialogue box in your browser.
    Be sure to use the print preview so you can decide how the pages should look when they are printed. I made mine “shrink to fit” so that my sidebars would be fully included. The Staples print driver then converts the file to a PDF and sends it to your Staples print account.
    On the Staples print website you can combine print jobs and get them printed out and bound as one document. I printed out my monthly archives and combined them into one document for the whole year. I think next time I might just print out my favourite posts and combine them.
    You can rearrange the order of your files at the Staples website, but it can be hard to tell which is which (that part of the website just shows tiny thumbnails) so it's better to send them in the order you want them printed. I had mine printed in reverse chronological order just like the blog, with December first, then November etc.
    You can preview your whole document and save it in your Staples account before actually ordering it, to make sure everything looks right. There are also printing options like the kind of paper, cover, binding, etc., that you want.
    What I love about it is that it preserves the look of your blog. None of the other blog printing services I've seen do that.
    I hope this answers your question! Feel free to comment or e-mail if you want to know more.

  9. Susan says:

    That looks really cool, Sylvia. I kinda wish now I'd thought to do something like that before I changed my template.
    Anyway, I hope your Christmas was merry and I wish you lots of good reading in 2007 with a trip to Utah thrown in in October.

  10. Sylvia says:

    Thanks, Susan! I don't know if you'd want me there in October, though, I might try to wrestle you for Dante!

  11. Tamara says:

    I have been meaning to come by and tell you “thank you” for your description on how you did this. I really like the fact that you could keep your blog layout in the printing. Thank you πŸ˜‰

  12. Tamara says:

    I just emailed you for some help πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.