Uh oh, here we go again

Lowpressure_1

I do believe there’s a storm coming. It never seems to end. We’ve already had two damaging wind storms (since the big snow storm) with the obligatory power outages. Some people still don’t have their power back after the last storm, and BC Hydro is telling them to evacuate because it’ll be a while. Nice. The storm coming tonight is supposed to be the biggest one yet, with 90 km/h winds plus lightning, just in case we want to see the destruction while it’s still dark out. As long as a tree doesn’t fall on the house or my car I’ll be happy.

UPDATE: It’s a miracle! The power is back on! I was counting on a couple of days but it was off for less than 12 hours. Hydro said there were 54,000 homes and businesses without power in the capital region (and a quarter million province-wide). That could account for nearly half the region’s population! According to the radio there were trees and lines down all over the place, and entire neighbourhoods and suburbs were cut off. We never lost the phone so I guess the problem here was minor. The winds were a little higher than expected. The most seaward weather station recorded a maximum wind speed of 158 km/h (98 mph). The anemometer at one station blew off at 100km/h, and has yet to be found. It wasn’t quite that bad where I live, and only one big tree here volunteered to be next winter’s firewood.

I haven’t heard of woolly whipper either. Must be from back east.

7 comments on “Uh oh, here we go again

  1. Andrew says:

    Nothing here at 9pm, downtown Victoria.
    Hopefully they've overblown the magnitude :p

  2. Stefanie says:

    Sounds like a woolly whipper! Do Canadians really say that? My radio weather guy used it as hiw weather word of the week this morning and said it came from Canada. Hope your weather isn't as bad as the forecast.

  3. Andrew says:

    It was quite bad. Wind really picked up here midnight or so.
    I've not heard of woolly whipper, but then I'm not a native born Candadian.

  4. I'm still trying to get used to the new look. I like the new header and it fits better today than it did yesterday.
    I've moved my blog to the link above. I'm still transferring stuff so the old one won't be deleted until that's done.
    I had a GREAT day today…come see!
    Smiling BIG,
    Jessica

  5. Sylvia says:

    I know, I saw! The GBWW! I left a comment on your old blog. Congratulations!

  6. Heather says:

    Glad the power wasn't out too long!

What do you think?

