Where Are They Now?

There’s been an interesting conversation at On Books and Bicycles about reading blogs and blogrolls. That inspired me to go tidy up my Bloglines account. I had a bunch of feeds that were no longer active so I’ve been going through, checking to see if those blogs really are defunct, and deleting the ones that seem truly dead. I wonder: where are they now? Did these bloggers just lose interest? Did they have a heart attack? Did they win the lottery and move to an island in the Caribbean?

I’ve heard of a service that will send e-mails to friends and relatives in case the Rapture happens and you get spirited up to heaven before all hell breaks loose down here. I think there should be something similar for bloggers (minus the Rapture part). Maybe a blogger could register a couple of phone numbers, and the blog’s password, and if the blog goes dormant for a certain amount of time someone could phone and find out what was up, and post the appropriate notice.

It has actually occurred to me to put instructions in my will for someone to post a note on my blog informing readers that I’ve joined the choir invisible. That is, if I had a will. As much as the blogosphere is easy come, easy go, I think it would be nice to know what happened to people, don’t you?

5 comments on “Where Are They Now?

  1. Wil Cone says:

    I think you're on to something. I could see a blog clause becoming standard in bloggers' wills.
    As a fall-back option, maybe you could set up a “doomsday” post: if you haven't posted in six weeks or six months or whatever, the doomsday post goes live – at least letting readers know you're gone (presumably for good) and perhaps someone with knowledge of your situation could leave a comment.

  2. Andrew says:

    Yeah, we've seen this come up countless times on the internet with its new type of communities, specifically friends whose only contact with each other is online.
    I would certainly appreciate knowing whether someone passed away or just got bored and moved on.

  3. Andrew says:

    Wil – that was tried at a tech site I frequent. 2 weeks of no posting and there'd be an automatic post saying “I'm dead” or something. Apparently, someone forgot about it, went on vacation or something, which resulted in everyone being shocked that he'd died. Much apologizing ensued, and the idea was shelved.

  4. Stefanie says:

    I think you're onto something Sylvia! I often wonder what has happened when someone suddenly disappears. Sometimes they come back but so often they don't. I'll have to add a blog clause to my non-existent will too.

  5. Susan says:

    I would love to know how Margaret of Bookish Marginalia is doing. And what she's reading.

Comments are closed.