Single Digits

Brrr

Now that’s scary. Nothing sends chills down my spine like the words “arctic outflow winds.” I guess it’s time to switch my water bottle for my mini-thermos. Sigh.

12 comments on “Single Digits

  1. Andrew says:

    Brrr.
    Looking forward to spring already.
    But then again, there's nothing nicer than a short hike through East Sooke Park after a light snowfall.

  2. Sylvia says:

    True. Been there, done that, back in the good old days when my legs worked and I could thermoregulate. I tried a short walk today and had to turn back because I got colder rather than warmer as I walked. F@*%!^& CFS!

  3. Sylvia says:

    By the way, today I was wearing thick wool socks, boots, boiled wool jacket, wool/cashmere car coat, and wool toque. It still wasn't enough! It's going to be a long winter…

  4. Talmida says:

    Sylvia, wool and cashmere are lovely, but you need warmth closer to the skin. Get some of the hi-tec long underwear and sock liners. Keep wool for the outer layer, but get something softer and loftier next to your skin.
    And if it's damp or windy, your wool might be helped by a little gortex.
    And of course, those nifty little hot packs that one slips inside the mittens!
    Check out Mountain Equipment Co-op online…. good stuff.
    (our low is -11, high -6 for tomorrow and the snow we got yesterday is staying on the ground)

  5. Sylvia says:

    Yes, I'll definitely have to break out my luxurious Swiss silk/wool longjohns, and if things get really bad it'll be time for Ulfrotté. Europeans (not to mention sheep) really know how to keep warm and comfy! No smelly, static-y synthetics for them, or me, thank you very much. MEC can keep their garishly coloured petroleum products! I don't know what makes them think they can make better fibres than animals that have been living outside for millions of years. It makes more sense to me to use what already works and move on. (And yes, this is a pet peeve of mine!)

  6. Andrew says:

    By the gods, it was chilly today. Hope you stayed inside nice and warm Sylvia.

  7. Sylvia says:

    Yes, except for a little chat with the neighbour who told me how much he loves this weather. Whatever.

  8. Heather says:

    It was -14C when I got up this morning! And -23 with the windchill!! W00t!

  9. Sylvia says:

    Ah, but it's a dry cold… (Love the leaf pictures, btw.)

  10. A says:

    Travel light and freeze all night. Love it. Bring it on. I need to move further north. We have't had a decent winter in our neck of the woods for six or seven years. Twenty years from now (or not even?) and Minneapolis is gonna feel like Houston, so I want to enjoy every last bit of cold I can.

  11. Sylvia says:

    I think you Scandahoovians must have antifreeze in your blood. Or you're just crazy. Might be both.
    😉

  12. Wil Cone says:

    Today's forecast (for Santa Fe): High: 13°C (55°F), Low:-2°C (28°F).
    It's not odd to get a 30-40°F (17-22°C) difference between our highs and lows here.
    Looks like you have that moderating coastal effect.
    P.S. Happy Halloween!

Comments are closed.