What Art Movement Are You?

I’m not sure if cave painting was an option…

You Are Romanticism
You are likely to see the world as it should be, not as it is.
You prefer to celebrate the great things people do… not the horrors they’re capable of.
For you, there is nothing more inspiring than a great hero.
You believe that great art reflects the artist’s imagination and true ideals.

via the expressionistic Coming to the Quiet

8 comments on “What Art Movement Are You?

  1. A says:

    Hmmm, I think I like your's better than mine.
    PS I've tried to e-mail you a few times, and my e-mails keep getting returned. I've checked and checked and rechhecked the address I have for you….???

  2. Andrew says:

    Romanticism here too.
    I totally agree, what “is” is boring when compared to what should be, what could be.

  3. Sylvia says:

    Hmm, you must be a scientist, if not an engineer!

  4. Andrew says:

    I have a degree in Pure Math, and do IT work at the moment.
    Sorry, not sure if you're joking or not πŸ™‚
    Your comment surprises me. I'd've thought the people who got this answer in the test would be the opposite of the “cold calculating rational emotionless math/engineering types”. I've always liked the romantic stories and art (Tolkein, far future scifi, heroic stories).
    However, the last few months I've been more concerned with trying to expand the artistic side – classics, philosophy, humanities, I even went to the Vic Art Gallery on the weekend :P.

  5. Sylvia says:

    I meant no offense–I'm a scientist! I think science and engineering are all about going beyond what is to what could be, whether it's expanding knowledge or building a bigger skyscraper. Or solving Fermat's theorem. I think it's only in recent centuries that science and the arts have been seen as inherently different. Wouldn't you say that passion and creativity and beauty are as much a part of mathematics as of painting or literature?

  6. Andrew says:

    Maybe not as much a part, but I would cede the point. It sure doesn't feel like it as I install another network… πŸ˜‰

  7. Sylvia says:

    Oh dear. Well, there are always books to take us away from it all… πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.