I’ve been Brokebacked

Yes, that’s right, I was the last person on the planet who hadn’t seen Brokeback Mountain, but now I’ve seen it and want to cry forever. Sigh. Good message, though. Don’t let fear of what may happen, even fear of what is likely to happen, stop you from living the life that is in you. No one wins when we pretend to be something we’re not.

Jack and Ennis on Brokeback Mountain

UPDATE: I must have this: Brokeback Mountain: Story to Screenplay.

18 comments on “I’ve been Brokebacked

  1. Dana Huff says:

    I just saw it this summer, and now it's my favorite movie. Great summary of the theme.

  2. Marg says:

    Not quite the last person…I haven't seen it yet!

  3. I haven't seen it either! We rented it and I realized that watching it with my husband (with the high probability he'd make comments throughout) was not an ideal situation.
    Do you organize your home library? How? Do you use a library system or your own? I want to organize mine but I don't know where to place creation science books – under science or religion? Eeek.
    Any ideas?

  4. Sylvia says:

    Ah, yes, perhaps it's not the best movie to watch with a Methodist minister! But you never know, it's such a beautifully told story.
    My library is organized in the sense that similar books are lumped together (and my fiction is alphabetized), but not according to any particular system. Frequently used books are more accessible, while dusty old things I hardly look at are on the bottom shelves and in the corners. Whatever works!

  5. Brandon says:

    I haven't seen “Brokeback Mountain” either, but I'm not much of a movie-goer. I'd probably read the short story before seeing the movie. I haven't rented a movie in a long time, and the last flick I saw in the theater was “Superman Returns.” I was disappointed in it.

  6. Milan says:

    Echoing those who have said you were not the last, I haven't seen it either.

  7. turtlebella says:

    Heaven movie. The short story is wonderful too, but that's not too surprising, is it? Given that it's by E. Annie Proulx. I highly recommend it! (and see the movie too, they did a beautiful, heart-wrenching – from all perspectives – job).

  8. Wil Cone says:

    Rented it a few months ago. Really good movie. Definitely one to see again.

  9. Sylvia says:

    I definitely plan to read the story. And see the movie again. And again, and again, and…

  10. Jessica says:

    I didn't like the movie. The message is that it is OK to be unfaithful to your partner. The cowboys were unfaithful to their wives, and one was unfaithful to the other by sleeping with rent-boys.
    I found the movie to be sad because it paints just a depressing picture of a society in which love and sex are separated.

  11. Stefanie says:

    I haven't seen the movie yet either!

  12. Sylvia says:

    Jessica, that's what I mean about no one winning. If Jack and Ennis could have lived together in peace, they never would have embarked on those sham marriages. Even if they had kept apart they never would have loved their wives. They loved only each other. For me the movie is sad because society separated (and still tries to separate) people who truly love each other.

  13. Julie says:

    Haven't seen it yet, either. Gosh, there's a bunch of us!

  14. Andrew says:

    I haven't seen it yet either.

  15. Sylvia says:

    Seriously, people, you must see this movie! It's a masterpiece.

  16. Susan says:

    I thought they did a great job adapting the story to the screen, although while the story left me feeling as if I'd been kicked in the gut, the movie made me cry.
    I've been wanting to watch this again since returning from Utah. Guess I'll go bump it to the top of the Netflix list!

  17. Jessica says:

    “If Jack and Ennis could have lived together in peace, they never would have embarked on those sham marriages. Even if they had kept apart they never would have loved their wives. They loved only each other.”
    Sylvie, I disagree. If they loved only each other,why would they have sex with other people? Also, they were not forced to get married. Lots of people remain single (and celibate) their entire lives.
    Also, one of the characters still slept with male prostitutes. Society didn't force him to do that. That doesn't seem very faithful.
    Put it in these terms…If a heterosexual married man had an affair, it would be weird to claim that he truly loved his wife. Loving somone means being faithful to them (even at the expense of your own desires). So, that's why I didn't find the movie to be very romantic — it annoyed me that the characters were not faithful to each other, while at the same time claiming to love each other.

  18. Sylvia says:

    I think the answer to your question is that they were imperfect human beings doing the best they could to navigate through this mystery called life. They were poor, uneducated, had few options in life, and were desperately lonely. The only rules they had to go by weren't made for them. I don't think most of us can understand what it would be like to be in their boots, with external pressures to conform and internal pressures to love and be loved. I don't think heterosexual people can really understand what it does to a person when they can't be who they are. I don't think it is too much to say that it is psychological torture. If Jack and Ennis cracked under that torture, I can't say that I blame them.

Comments are closed.