Are You a Systematizer or an Empathizer?

I knew I liked systems, but this is ridiculous! And I didn’t think I was that un-empathetic. Hmm, is it possible I have I been too hard on Bitacle lately? Nah!

Are you a People Person or Technically Minded?

My results:
(EQ=Empathizing Quotient; SQ=Systematizing Quotient)

Males Females
Average EQ: 39.0 48.0
Average SQ: 61.2 51.7
Your SQ Score: 124
Your EQ Score: 31

Now excuse me while I go arrange my socks according to colour and thickness…

via Language Log

17 comments on “Are You a Systematizer or an Empathizer?

  1. Andrew says:

    EQ: 37
    SQ: 70
    Sounds about right for me: sometimes socially introverted, but I have a fairly high sense of empathy.
    Technically minded, in most aspects of my life (and I generally like tests like these :))

  2. A says:

    SQ: 68
    EQ: 48
    Hmmm, pretty well balanced….

  3. Sylvia says:

    OK, so I guess I'm the only mutant around here… Sigh.

  4. Chuck says:

    EQ: 28
    SQ: 69
    I think I gave too many “slightly” answers.

  5. Stefanie says:

    EQ: 28
    SQ: 92
    I had to laugh at the question When you fly you think of the aerodynamics of the plane (or something like that) My first thought was, oh gosh yes! And then I wondered doesn't everybody? And then I thought, maybe not. And then I thought, Well Sylvia does! πŸ˜‰

  6. Julie says:

    EQ:23
    SQ:96
    I think I'm actually more systematic than that. It was all those questions about housekeeping that skewed it the wrong way. Anyway, Sylvia, you're obviously not the only mutant around here. πŸ˜‰

  7. Sylvia says:

    This is getting spooky. I'm beginning to think we have a colony of mutants here! And yes, I do think about aerodynamics. (It's a bird! It's a plane! It's a CH-149 Cormorant helicopter!)

  8. Kim says:

    EQ:26
    SQ:59
    Like Chuck, I think I gave too many slightly answers. I'm not surprised by the outcome though. I am taking a cataloging class this semester for my library science degree, and I am really enjoying learning the cataloging “system.”

  9. Sylvia says:

    I hear ya, sister! I'm a big fan of indexes, and considered becoming an indexer myself. The state of indexing today is truly appalling!

  10. Chuck says:

    Probably I would have had fewer “slightly” answers if I had spent more time thinking about what they were asking but a) I didn't want to spend all day on the test and b) I thought the answers should be spontaneous so as to reflect my most immediate self-analysis. But really I was playing it too safe. I'm sure I'm much more systematic than my result showed. For example, yesterday I spent between six and eight hours compiling a German vocabulary list. Who does things like that?

  11. Kate S. says:

    Thanks for sharing this link! Being a very disorganized technophobe with a particular fear of math, I expected my EQ to be much higher than my SQ. Not so. EQ 51, and SQ 53. My lawyerly logic must have prevented the SQ figure from sinking through the floor…

  12. booklogged says:

    EQ: 34
    SQ: 63
    Fun quiz.

  13. I can see now why we get along so well!
    Your Systemizing Test Result
    Your Systemizing Quotient (SQ): 123
    Your Empathizing Test Result
    Your Empathizing Quotient (EQ): 44
    Do you mind coming by and checking out my personal reading list and see if I need to make any additions or subtractions? Ya know, since you're as systemizing as I am…

  14. Sylvia says:

    Yay! I'm not alone! πŸ˜€
    I noticed your impressive list, but tried not to read it too carefully for fear of adding more books to *my* list! But I will try to be brave and look again… πŸ˜‰

  15. Wil Cone says:

    EQ=41
    SQ=67
    Fairly close to average for males. As often happens, I found myself critiquing the test itself.

  16. Andrew says:

    Likewise, Wil.
    For example no.2 on the SQ: I don't love bookstores BECAUSE they are organized, I love them because they have books. If they were unorganized bookstores I would go to another store. I found myself trying to determine what exactly the test was trying to achieve, and then answered strongly disagree.
    I do like the organization of the stores (everything where it belongs), but that's not why I like them.

  17. Tim Worstall says:

    Hi, sorry to butt in here, I'm one of the people that writes for that EQSQ site.
    The important thing is not the specific numbers for different people will put different values on the words 'slightly' and 'very' and so on.
    It's the ratio between the two results. So a 10:30 result is regarded as the same as a 20:60 and so on. It's not an absolute scale, more a relative one.
    I was actually writing about librarians on Friday, and I assumed that, precisely because of the indexing thing, that you'd mostly be systemizers. Boy, am I glad I got that right!
    Glad you enjoyed the test.

Comments are closed.