Engine Trouble

Mustela

So, my engine was making this funny noise… Actually the cat cornered this beastie, whose ungodly screams alerted me to his or her plight. After I corralled the cat, the little mink proceeded under and into my car. I had an idea where it might head, and sure enough, there it was in my engine compartment.

I’m a biologist, right, so this is totally cool!!! I’ve seen mink before but I’ve never heard them give their warning cry. It’s a bit like a strung out Stellar’s jay right in your ear. Quite startling, as it is supposed to be. Everything in the weasel family has a reputation for ferocity, so I am keeping my distance. (The cat is probably lucky he didn’t get any more involved than he was.) I’ve also discovered that they release a rather unpleasant smell when stressed. Might need an engine shampoo after this is done.

8 comments on “Engine Trouble

  1. Lorianne says:

    Wow, what an incredible photo! Is he stuck in there, or just frozen? I love the little claws…
    I must admit, though, when I first saw this, I thought he was a RAT. Yikes…

  2. Sylvia says:

    No, it was just waiting for my next move. Weasels are not the types to cower! It kept a close watch on me the whole time. I had the feeling it wasn't trying to get away, it just wanted *me* to go away so it could continue inspecting the garbage cans. Far from being a rat, they hunt and eat rats!

  3. goldscribe says:

    Quite surprising, curious did the mink just find his way out on his own?

  4. Sylvia says:

    I don't know. It's certainly not in the engine compartment any more. I assume it's gone since the cats aren't making a fuss any more. I don't think it'll be back after all this hassle!

  5. Stefanie says:

    How cute it is! Amazing that such a small animal can make such a noise as you describe.

  6. Carl V. says:

    Wow, that would be a suprise. Glad you didn't find out about it by starting up the engine and killing the thing…that would've been an awful, smelly mess.

  7. Susan says:

    Oh, I WANT him! Okay, so I know he'd rip me to shreds, but he's adorable!
    I hope he learns to keep out of car engines.

  8. Sylvia says:

    “Amazing that such a small animal can make such a noise”
    Mink are a lot bigger than they look. πŸ˜‰ I've heard it said that if weasels were the size of bears we'd never be able to set foot in the forest.

Comments are closed.