Addicted to Wagner

It’s not just me:

Assuming you don’t have a total aversion to it, Wagner’s music in general and the Ring in particular have a way of digging into your subconscious more deeply than another form of music theatre. He didn’t aim to entertain people but to overwhelm them, to invade their minds and colonize their feelings. …

For me, returning to the Ring is always like having a relapse into some dormant viral condition, like malaria, except that I end up welcoming the disease like an intimate friend. Saturday was the only day last week when I wasn’t either hearing or writing about the Ring, but when I woke up my first thought was that it would be a good idea to listen to more Wagner. …

… It worked me over and gave me chills. I got my fix, and I feel a little sorry for anybody who didn’t.

— Robert Everett-Green, Delivering the fix of Wagner’s opus (get login from Bugmenot)

Right now I’m ripping my new Ring CD set so I can listen to it on my mp3 player. And I’m contemplating getting this as well. It’s a slippery slope… Wheeeeeee!!

7 comments on “Addicted to Wagner

  1. Okay, I'm going to be completely rude and ask you about something else…
    The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World ($25) or
    The Oxford Classical Dictionary ($75)
    Does the price make a big difference between the two contexts?

  2. Sylvia says:

    The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World contains part of the information in the Oxford Classical Dictionary. It's the same with the Oxford Companion to Classical Literature and the Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion. They are sub-parts of the humungous OCD.
    If you're not too picky you can find cheap previous editions on bookfinder.com.

  3. Chuck says:

    My copy of The Ring is getting ready to ship as I write (I guess that's what they mean by “handling'). I was actually hoping that when they said “4 to 6 weeks” they meant it — I wanted to keep it off my credit card bill for another month! Oh well, the music will be worth it, I hope!
    What's happened to me? I've listened to Parsifal two days in a row! It's all the CBC's fault!

  4. Sylvia says:

    LOL! I was listening to Das Rheingold last night. I think we had a better Mime but the Met's Wotan is awesome.

  5. Wil Cone says:

    I was skimming the WikiP article on Wagner and there, at the bottom of the page, was a link to the Warner Brothers classic “What's Opera, Doc?” So…I guess I do like Wagner after all. 😉
    Kill the Wabbit!
    Kill the Wabbit!

  6. Seesaw says:

    What and erudite person you are Sylvia!
    I love opera, love Wagner, especially Tristan und Isolde and Tannhäuser. When I traveled through Germany, Switzerland or Venice, I always looked for places where he lived. I do not know do you speak German, if you do the first book I would send you is Martin Gregor-Dellin: Richard Wagner, Sein Leben, Sein Werk, Sein Jahrundert. Great composer and fascinating person he was!

  7. Sylvia says:

    Thank you. I am not surprised to learn you are an opera buff! Alas, I don't read German, but it's on my list of languages to learn.

Comments are closed.