Sidebar Adjustments

Observant bookworms may notice one or two minor changes on the blog here. One is that I deleted the “Lexis” section of new-to-me words. Following Mortimer Adler’s advice I had stopped (for the most part) looking up unfamiliar words as I read but just made a note of them and looked them up later. It has become abundantly clear that this is a pretty poor way to learn new words. I remember new words much better if I look them up as I encounter them and read them in context. The interruption is more than compensated for by actually understanding the sentence in question. Sorry Mortimer.

Lexophiles are not out of luck, though, because at the top left I’ve added Wordsmith.org‘s A Word A Day feed. This is a particularly good word site because it doesn’t just give you obscure words that you will never see or use, and it includes decent etymology and interesting quotes for each word.

The other change is I’ve added a section called Share Literacy that links to organizations that are working to increase literacy and access to books in developing countries. Do consider setting aside some of your book-buying budget and donating to an organization that will bring the joys and benefits of reading to those who need literacy more than we need another book on the TBR pile. Thanks. πŸ™‚

3 comments on “Sidebar Adjustments

  1. Andrew says:

    Yeah, I can't see Adler's idea working for me either.
    Between the wordsmtih's WotD and my google.com/ig homepage dictionary.com WotD, I'll be facund expeditiously :p

  2. Todd says:

    Thanks for the link to Word of the Day…A nice feature is the audio pronuciation.

  3. Sylvia says:

    Andrew: Remind me never to play Scrabble with you.
    Todd: Thanks for visiting!

What do you think?

