Anne Labastille: A Canoe of One’s Own

When I first started writing, I discovered an interesting metabolic pattern. Mornings are my best time for writing. Time at the desk or on the sun deck is the equivalent of an executive’s hours in an office composing letters, writing memos, researching, and editing. However, instead of coffee breaks and committee meetings, my work is broken by such distractions as meeting the mail boat, tramping to the outhouse, putting fresh wood in the stove, or admiring the hummingbirds. I am alone with time yet never really alone. On sunny, calm days I may even work in the bottom of my canoe, floating on the lake. My portable typewriter just fits on the seat like a stenographer’s desk. And a yellow pad works anywhere. No word processors for me! I want no machinery or electricity between my brain, hand, pen, and paper.

—Anne Labastille, Woodswoman II: Beyond Black Bear Lake

One comment on “Anne Labastille: A Canoe of One’s Own

  1. Ella says:

    Wow, that does sound enviable.

Comments are closed.