Golconda Double Feature

It’s movie night at Bookworm, and coincidentally it’s a Slaves of Golconda double feature. First, The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie with the magnificent Maggie Smith. It’s a shame they could only give her one Oscar for her performance. It was spectacular, especially her big fight with Miss Mackay. Wow. I actually applauded at the end of that scene.

The film is based on a play that is a somewhat simplified but generally accurate adaptation of the book. The main departure from the book is when the girls’ concocted love letter between Miss Brodie and Mr. Lowther is discovered and precipitates the showdown with Miss Mackay. The characters (especially Mr. Lloyd) take over some of the exposition and also do some interpretation, just to make it perfectly clear what is wrong with Miss Brodie. There is no attempt to emulate Spark’s style of writing— the film is conventional— it is the characters and the acting that make it great.

On a girly note, I have to say I enjoyed the costumes too. Smith looked downright sexy in her close-fitting jackets and pencil skirts. Only a woman with her impeccable posture could breathe in some of those outfits!

The second movie I caught by coincidence on TV. It was The Island of Doctor Moreau. I won’t go into any details since the Slaves of Golconda are going to read the book together. I’ll just say that it’s f–ing freaky and philosophically fascinating. I had to laugh at the parental guidance warnings. Forget the violence, the thing is fr-eaky!!! I plan to read the book on nice sunny mornings with a cat in my lap. Oh wait, bad idea. Maybe a plant. Yes, a plant would be much better.

2 comments on “Golconda Double Feature

  1. Stefanie says:

    I don't know Sylvia, are you sure a plant is even safe? I haven't watched the movie but I will. Have you seen the Simpson's episode that is sort of Dr Moreau? It's a Treehouse of Horrors episode but I don't remember the number.

  2. Sylvia says:

    Well, The Little Shop of Horrors did occur to me.
    Maybe a rock. Nice and solid and completely without DNA.

Comments are closed.