Circus Maximus

Circus MaximusI was looking at pictures of the Azzurri’s homecoming at the ruins of the Circus Maximus in Rome and realized I knew absolutely nothing about it, so I looked it up. I was amazed at what I found out. The stadium was built for chariot racing by the Etruscans about 2,500 years ago. It was enlarged by Julius Caesar around 50 B.C. to accommodate about 250,000 people. The only stadium that size today is another racetrack, Indianapolis Speedway.

Sure, the Circus Maximus didn’t have giant screens, air conditioning, or PA systems, but it is humbling to think that twenty-five centuries years later we have yet to top it.

Click here to see an impressive model of Circus Maximus and here for an account of the races from Encyclopaedia Romana.

2 comments on “Circus Maximus

  1. Marg says:

    It's amazing to think that they are still using a place that old as a gathering point!!

  2. Sylvia says:

    I know, talk about having a sporting pedigree! I guess only Greece can beat Italy in that regard, at least among Western countries.

Comments are closed.