Sometimes Personalities Can Change

So I get a voice mail from my dad. “I forgot to mention that I’m going to the Yukon. I’m leaving Monday. I’ll call you before I go.”

?!?!?!?!

I thought people generally slowed down when they hit their golden years? You know, play golf, cruise, build models. Instead my dad seems to be speeding up. He bought his first new vehicle ever a couple of years ago and seems bent on wearing it out before he wears out. First a little jaunt to California, just to warm up the engine. Then across Canada. Yup, all the way across. And as our country goes as far up as it goes across, that dimension must be covered too. Why anyone would go up there at this time of year, when the bugs are inconceivable, I don’t know.

The worst part is that he didn’t consult me first. About what to take, I mean. I have a thing for preparation. I actually have dreams about packing. Helping someone pack for a trek to the Yukon would be a delight, but nooooo, he’s just traipsing off, probably without a bug shirt or bear spray or books on Yukon flora, fauna, geology, geography, and history. Sheesh.

2 comments on “Sometimes Personalities Can Change

  1. Stefanie says:

    Wow, your Dad has some nerve, going off on a trip like that and not consulting his daughter first. Parents! What's a daughter to do about them? I mean, mine do things sometimes and don't even tell me about it until after the fact. There outta be a law or something! πŸ˜‰

  2. Sylvia says:

    You know, you try to teach them, but at some point you just have to let them try their wings and hope they do the right thing. Sigh.

Comments are closed.