Half Time

Ten days into the World Cup and half of the 64 matches have now been played. There’s no break for spectators, though, because there will now be four games a day for four days as the 32 teams play their last round-robin group games.

Some of the teams have already racked up enough points to advance to the next stage, but many spots are still up for grabs, which should make for some exciting games. In most groups, the seeded teams will be playing each other (as will the unseeded teams) so we may see some of the toughest matches yet.

The games will be starting later now so I get to sleep in until 6am. Woohoo! Actually it has been surprisingly easy to get up at 5am. I should be a mess, with my ME/CFS, but I think the World Cup is giving me energy. I’ve also been using a sleep CD to knock myself out early at night and it works like a charm.

If only I had a charm to expel the virus (or whatever) that has taken over my body. The thing I miss most since getting sick is soccer. Not hiking, not work, not being able to do what I want when I want. What I’d like back the most is to be able to run down the pitch with the ball and put fear into the goalie’s heart. I still dream about it. But for now, watching the best players in the world is a pretty good substitute, and great material for more dreaming.

8 comments on “Half Time

  1. Casey says:

    I just want to get on board with the soccer thing. I'm a bandwagon, fairweather fan (i.e., I watch every four years), but I'm loving it this year. I almost lept off my balcony at the end of the Poland/Germany game, for example.

  2. Sylvia says:

    Um, you might want to move the TV to the ground floor for the Costa Rica game tomorrow…

  3. Stefanie says:

    I've been managing to be laid back about the games but then I watched a few matches over the weekend and yesterday at work was sooo hard because I couldn't watch any of them. I don't get to watch again until the weekend!

  4. Talmida says:

    I hope you're proud of yourself, Sylvia. YOU GOT ME HOOKED!!!!
    Seriously, the girls and I had a blast watching football (but we pronounce it with a French accent!) all weekend. What a blast! Way more fun than all the hockey hoopla. I finally learned the offside rule, but it's taken me the better part of a week to figure out that suspensions carry over to the next game. ARGHHHH!!!! My Black Stars will be short Gyan on Thursday!
    ;-D

  5. Sylvia says:

    Mwa ha ha! My diabolical plan is working!
    Go Ghana!!

  6. Talmida says:

    Have you seen last month's National Geographic? A wonderful series of essays about soccer from around the world.

  7. Sylvia says:

    Thanks for the head's up! They have it online.

  8. Wil Cone says:

    Sylvia, you've actually got me watching World Cup highlights on yahoo as well…

Comments are closed.