Making a Book Your Own

I’ve been inspired by Classical Mamma (and the Great Books Reading Partnership) to once again take up Adler and Van Doren’s How To Read A Book and perhaps (gasp!) even finish it (I’m on chapter 10). In Technorati-ing on Adler’s name (just to see who else is reading him) I discovered a nice post describing one man’s approach to reading. He mentions How To Read A Book and has taken to heart the advice on making a book your own. Not only does he mark important passages, index them, and turn down corners, as suggested by Adler and Van Doren, he will also send paperbacks off to be bound with hard covers if they turn out to be particularly important. Apparently this doesn’t cost much more than the difference between buying a paperback and hardcover, and it means he doesn’t have to buy every book in hardcover if he’s not sure of its value to him. Clever!

5 comments on “Making a Book Your Own

  1. We're posting our notes on Chapter 9, tomorrow, Friday 6/9. Why don't you join us? Just post your comments on each chapter, won't it help you?
    We won't bite or harm you.
    Jessica πŸ™‚

  2. Sylvia says:

    Thanks, Jessica. πŸ™‚ Perhaps I will check in, though starting tomorrow I probably won't be able to devote much time to Mr. Adler because of a certain sports tournament going on in Germany… πŸ˜‰

  3. Julie says:

    I liked that guy's post. I do some of those things. Odor, definitely, though I prefer the word aroma. πŸ™‚ I “inspect” too, both before and after. But I cannot bring myself to write in a book. Recovering paperbacks is something I will definitely look into, however.

  4. Elaine says:

    Hi, I've been checking out sites on hardcover classics, to get feedback on which people prefer. I've noticed that you mentioned in one of your postings that you're looking for the OUP hardcover edition of Pride and Prejudice and I thought I'd let you know that chapters.ca offers it for about $23. I'm not sure if you're Canadian but if not, they offer reasonable shipping outside Canada.

  5. Sylvia says:

    Thanks Elaine, but it looks like I must have missed it. They do have one copy available…for $300. Sigh.

Comments are closed.