Colbert: Books Are Too Truthy

From the White House Correspondents’ Dinner, where Stephen Colbert dared to roast the President, the First Lady, and the media to their faces:

But I just have one beef, ma’am. I’m sorry, but this reading initiative. I’ve never been a fan of books. I don’t trust them. They’re all fact, no heart. I mean, they’re elitist, telling us what is or isn’t true, what did or didn’t happen. Who’s Britannica to tell me the Panama Canal was built in 1914? If I want to say it was built in 1941, that’s my right as an American. I’m with the president — let history decide what did or did not happen.

Read the whole “ballsilicious” transcript here. I have the feeling he won’t be invited back. He may in fact disappear. Enjoy him while you can.

7 comments on “Colbert: Books Are Too Truthy

  1. Susan says:

    I've been meaning to quote those very lines all week, Sylvia!
    Did you hear that the Decider has reached the conclusion that WWWIII is underway? It started on 9/11 of course.

  2. Sylvia says:

    I hate to agree with the Decider, but it does seem as though the Wahhabists are intent on world domination, starting with taking over the Muslim world. The war didn't start on 9/11, though; that's just when the Decider first noticed it. Unfortunately it seems that no one in his administration has a clue what to do about it (other than to use up the oil quickly as possibly, thereby depriving the Saudis of the means to fund Wahhabism). Obviusly we're not gonna get nuked tomorrow, but the non-Muslims of Darfur can confirm that the war is well underway.

  3. Quillhill says:

    “use up the oil quickly as possible, thereby depriving the Saudis of the means to fund Wahhabism”–That's brilliant, Sylvia. Fight Terrorism. Buy an SUV.

  4. Sylvia says:

    And if you can't afford that, buying flowers for Mother's Day works too, since many (if not most) cut flowers are flown in daily from South America. Airplanes are particularly good at burning up vast amounts of fossil fuels. As an added bonus, those flowers are grown with massive amounts of petroleum-based chemicals.
    Fairness in Flowers campaign

  5. Janet Jeffery says:

    He won't disappear. We of the backlash are too many in number and we support him.

  6. Sylvia says:

    It's the backlash versus the backwash, eh? 😉
    (That won't make any sense to anyone who hasn't read/seen the whole speech.)

  7. Michelle says:

    It was a brilliant speech. 🙂
    But what scares me is that Colbert is now considered this courageous political dissedent. I mean, if this is considered terribly courageous, America is doomed.

Comments are closed.