¡Viva México!

I couldn’t let Cinco de Mayo pass by without having a little blog fiesta. This festival commemorates the military victory of the Mexican army over the larger and better equipped invading French army at Puebla in 1862. It is really not celebrated in Mexico much outside of the state of Puebla, but in the U.S. (and now Canada) it has become a celebration of Mexican culture. Unfortunately the medium of the internet is limited and I can’t make you all enchiladas, so I’ll just have to leave you with some art and some song. ¡Feliz Cinco de Mayo!

Frida Kahlo: Autorretrato en la frontera entre México y Estados Unidos

For your listening pleasure: La Mariquita by Linda Ronstadt

7 comments on “¡Viva México!

  1. Sylvia-
    I am also Mamma1420, the one who was intimidated. But no more. Come see what I've been up to at http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/classicalmamma, and I promise I did not get the idea from you.
    I feel like I'm impersonating you, but truly I came up with this on my own without your influence!
    I'm starting my own independent study of Wheelock's Latin (6th ed.), my workbook has yet to arrive and I've download the pronunciation audio files. I may get the flashcards too, 700 is a lot to create.
    Right now, I'm reading: The Devil Knows Latin: Why America Needs the Classical Tradition by Knopff and How To Read A Book by Adler.
    I'm skimming for now: The Well-Educated Mind by S.W.Bauer and God Against the Gods: The History of War of Monotheism versus Polytheism and Adler's The Great Conversation.
    Do you have any thoughts on these?
    Jessica

  2. iliana says:

    Feliz Cinco de Mayo! Although too true, I am Mexicana but don't really celebrate Cinco de Mayo.

  3. Sylvia says:

    Hi Jessica! Your site looks great. I just love those pictures of women reading. I'd join your Adler project except I don't think I can manage two chapters a week with all the other balls I'm juggling. I look forward to eavesdropping, though.
    Of the books you mention I've only finished “The Well-Educated Mind” (which was very helpful). “God Against the Gods” sounds interesting. “The Devil Knows Latin” sounds a bit extreme. I can't believe he's against the 14th Amendment! But I guess it shows the universal appeal of ancient classics.
    I think you'll enjoy Wheelock's Latin. It is an excellent text and the support books are excellent as well. I would recommend Grote's “Guide to Wheelock's Latin” because it explains the 'why' of some of the irregularities so you can work them out logically instead of just memorizing them. I think earlier versions of the guide are available free online. Check my Latin sidebar—>
    Thanks for dropping by for the party! 😉

  4. Sylvia says:

    Que tal, Iliana! I guess Cinco de Mayo is more for us Chicanas. 😉

  5. Wil Cone says:

    It's definitely celebrated here in Santa Fe, but like the Cake song says, “I don't know much about Cinco de Mayo…I'm never sure what it's all about.”
    Thanks for the explanation. 🙂

  6. Danielle says:

    Nice post! Happy Cinco de Mayo to you too! My niece is right now enjoying the parades and other festivities not too far from our house. I am staying home doing chores! Enchiladas sound pretty good right now….

  7. turtlebella says:

    Sylvia, I'm way late as I was out of town for a long time but thanks for posting about Cinco de Mayo & what it actually means. People always ask me if it's Independence Day in Mexico. Then I have to launch into a history lesson and their eyes glaze over, rather. So yes, it's become more of a holiday for us Chicanos/as.

Comments are closed.