The Slaves of Golconda Ride Again!

Ella (Box of Books) has passed the reins on to me, and after some deliberation and discussion in the Café, I have chosen the Slaves of Golconda’s next read: The Prime of Miss Jean Brodieby Muriel Spark. Posts will be due Friday, June 30, and discussion will ensue at MetaxuCafé, where you are also invited to cross-post. Everyone is welcome to participate.

Susan (Pages Turned) has suggested a new twist for our next mining adventure. The Slaves are invited, if they wish, to read an additional Muriel Spark book for comparison. If you let me know which title you are interested in I’ll post it in my sidebar so we can avoid overlap. Of course, if you are particularly keen to read a book someone else has chosen, go right ahead. Have fun everyone!


Before trading in the chaparreros for tam o’shanters, I’ve rounded up a right smart o’ links from our trail ride with The Virginian:

Full text of The Virginian

Study Questions at So Many Books

Medicine Bow, Wyoming: “Home of The Virginian”

Portrait of Owen Wister

Literary Map of The Virginian (via Quillhill)

The posts: So Many Books, The (other) Bookworm, Necessary Acts of Devotion, Work in Progress, Pages Turned, and here.

The discussion at MetaxuCafé

26 comments on “The Slaves of Golconda Ride Again!

  1. Danielle says:

    Hi Sylvia, I am glad you chose Muriel Spark. I don't belong to the Metaxu Cafe, but I was following along with the posts. I have read The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie ages ago, so this will be a good time to reread. I like Susan's idea of reading a second book as well. I am opting for The Driver's Seat, as another blogger recommended it to me. This will be an excellent way of getting to know her other works! Great idea!

  2. Quillhill says:

    I'm going to read Driver's Seat as my second Spark.

  3. Sylvia says:

    Wow, y'all don't waste much time! Ok, I've got you down for The Driver's Seat and Stephanie will be reading A Far Cry from Kensington. I have the feeling this experiment will stick.

  4. Sylvia says:

    Oh, I see we got another call for The Driver's Seat while I was making that last comment. Jeff, let me know if you're sticking with that or want to switch.

  5. Kate S. says:

    Sylvia, I'm thrilled with your selection. I'll read “The Comforters” as well as “The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie.”

  6. Julie says:

    I'll take Memento Mori.

  7. Stefanie says:

    Thanks for the Wister round up Sylvia! Our Spark experiment should be fun!

  8. Amanda A. says:

    Hey. Where do I sign up for the Slaves of Golconda? Can I just read Prime of Miss Jean Brodie and blog about it on the 30th of June. Is that all I need to do?

  9. Dorothy W. says:

    I'd like to join too! I'll post on the book on June 30th, but let me know if there's something else I should do. This sounds like fun!

  10. Susan says:

    I'm going to read The Finishing School.

  11. Ella says:

    Man, you guys are F-A-S-T. I think I'm going to see what they have at the library before I commit to a second book…are there enough Spark novels to go around?

  12. Sylvia says:

    Wow, what enthusiasm! Welcome, Amanda and Dorothy. It's pretty simple, we just read a novel/play/poem and blog about it on the same day. If you like you can join MetaxuCafé and post your thoughts there as well, and participate in the discussion in the MetaxuCafé forum. Whoever chose the last book picks someone else to choose the next book, and it continues. I think we have a general intention to stick with classics. The post that started it all is here.
    And if anyone finds any intersting Muriel Spark links, let me know and I can add them to the SOG sidebar.

  13. Amanda A. says:

    Hooray! Classics are my favorite! Especially modernist brits! I'll read The Girls of Slender Means in addition.

  14. Sylvia says:

    Ok, you're on the list.
    Oh, Ella, click on Muriel to go to a description of her books.

  15. Sylvia says:

    Me, I think I'll read her autobiography, Curriculum Vitae. (Can't resist Latin, you know.)

  16. Dorothy W. says:

    How about I do Aiding and Abetting?

  17. Sylvia says:

    You're on.

  18. Diana says:

    I'm going to read Loitering With Intent.

  19. Cam says:

    I want to play too! Will also read The Only Problem. Haven't read Sparks before. This will be fun.

  20. Sylvia says:

    Welcome aboard, Cam!

  21. Amanda says:

    Hello Sylvia-
    Found out about your site over at Danille's blog. I have only read one Spark (The Driver's Seat) which I completely loved so I would love to join in reading The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie. For my second Spark novel I want to reread The Driver's Seat.
    Amanda 🙂

  22. Sylvia says:

    OK, Amanda, you're in!

  23. Amanda says:

    Oh and by the way, thanks so much for linking to Knit the Classics!
    Amanda 🙂

  24. Sylvia says:

    Ah, I thought I saw your name somewhere. Knit the Classics is a brilliant idea. I meant to do a post but ran out of time. You've got an amazing collection of links for Pride and Prejudice! And I see you have links for past projets archived. What a great resource!

  25. Found out about this at Pages Turned. I read Driver's Seat last year and was so impressed. I don't know if I can manage 2 Sparks books by the end of month but ever since DS I have wanted to read Miss Brodie, so I'm interested in the forum.

Comments are closed.