Muriel Spark on Writing

I have always found writing the most pleasant form of expression. I know that I have a talent for giving pleasure with my writing. It has become my constant profession, and through the written word I have realized my life and livelihood. I have drawn the greatest possible happiness from the pursuit, especially of creative work.

I write by hand as I have always done, and enjoy opening an empty notebook waiting to be filled in.

—Muriel Spark (1918–2006)

4 comments on “Muriel Spark on Writing

  1. Heather says:

    I keep a stash of moleskine notebooks for just such a thing…

  2. Casey says:

    Ah, did she die? I taught _The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie_ this semester and my students managed to enjoy it a little… I, of course, loved teaching it. What a book to teach! R.I.P., Muriel.

  3. Sylvia says:

    Yes, she died April 15. Here's an article from The Scotsman that calls her “Scotland's answer to Jane Austen.”
    http://news.scotsman.com/uk.cfm?id=577502006

  4. Sylvia says:

    And Casey, we'd love to hear your perspective on “Miss Brodie” when we gather to discuss it on June 30. 🙂

Comments are closed.