LOTR Foolishness

It looks like TBS has been taking some lessons from Jon Stewart. Check out their promos for the upcoming Lord of the Rings marathon weekend.

(What am I doing watching a station like TBS, you ask? Watching Lara Croft kick some butt. But I couldn’t even do that without going to the bookshelf to look up the original legend of Pandora’s Box in my lovely 70%-off copy of Classical Mythology. And I thought the story about Eve was bad! “From her is the race of the female sex, the ruinous tribes of women, a great affliction…a bane to men who work for their bread.” Nice.)

5 comments on “LOTR Foolishness

  1. Talmida says:

    yeah, but, but, but…. it's still LARA!! With Gerard Butler and Djimon Hounsou!! Pure candy, that movie. I LOVE IT!!!
    *grin*

  2. Ella says:

    “From her is the race of the female sex, the ruinous tribes of women, a great affliction…a bane to men who work for their bread.”
    Heh. If they only knew about our plans for WORLD DOMINATION!!

  3. Sylvia says:

    Well, yes, it is a rather scenic movie… πŸ˜‰ But as a (sort of) martial artist my favourite part is the fighting. I love the drill work she did with the rifle (whatever that's called). (And yes, I like Xena and Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon too.)
    Ella! That was supposed to be our little secret!!

  4. Talmida says:

    Ah, but do you play Lara? The new TombRaider is out on the 11th for PC. I'm trying to decide whether buying it during Holy Week is a sin….
    πŸ˜‰
    I know no martial arts at all, but I've decided that if I get a choice, on the Great Wheel of Transmigrations, I'd like to come back as Lara Croft, please.

  5. jmfausti says:

    I saw the LOTR promos last night. Since when do we need a Brokeback Mountain style promo for LOTR? It's heresy or sacrilege or something equally likely to get you tarred and feathered/drawn and quartered.
    Next they'll Brokeback the Indiana Jones movies or Star Wars. Just strange.

Comments are closed.