To Do: Read

Regular readers (all three of you) may have noticed that there hasn’t been much actual reading going on around here for a while. There are a couple of reasons for this. First of all, I decided to do only spiritual reading for Lent. My bedtime book has been the number one best-seller of all time, the Bible. I do read the lectionary every day, but its snippets of scripture lack the sense of the continuous narrative of the Bible. At first I thought I’d just read Genesis, but now it looks like I’ll finish Exodus before Easter and may just keep going to see how it turns out. I don’t wish to bore my non-Christian readers but I have to say it is pretty interesting reading. Not only is it fascinatingly exotic, the action never stops, and I even find the technical descriptions of commandments, priestly vestments, etc., interesting. I’ve heard Leviticus is a real slog, but being a detail-oriented person I fancy my chances of making it through.

As for the other Lenten reading I’m supposed to be doing, it has been usurped by a very un-Lent-like obsession with my enormous to-do list. It is very satisfying to get things done, but since this isn’t a blog about kitchen organization there hasn’t been much to report here. The spring weather has also lured me out to the garden, to the garden store, and back again (and again, and again…). I also have a relative coming to visit soon, so getting the house (and the canoe!) ready is priority one.

The Cloister and the HearthHowever, I can feel the pendulum swinging back towards bookwormishness. I found myself in a used book store today and have three new friends. I grabbed a copy of The Virginian in preparation for the Slaves of Golconda’s next blogging project. I was intrigued by the cover of The Cloister and the Hearth, and want to find out if it is indeed “one of the half-dozen greatest historical romances of all time” as the cover claims. The real prize, though, is a good copy of A History of Reading by Alberto Manguel, a book I’ve heard many good things about. The shopkeeper expressed some regret that she hadn’t absconded with it herself, which makes the purchase that much sweeter.

So I’m looking forward to Easter, not just for the obvious religious reasons, but also because by then I’ll have time and space to be a bookworm again. Stay tuned.

8 comments on “To Do: Read

  1. A says:

    Sounds like a great life to me. πŸ™‚ Especially that part about a canoe….
    By the way, am I one of the three regulars? Surely you have more than that.
    And be prepared for some serious snoozing when you get to Leviticus (and this from a guy who loves the Bible.

  2. Sylvia says:

    Well, it's a great life if you don't count the nausea, muscle pain, hot & cold flashes, and extreme exhaustion that come with crossing items off the to-do list. It's worth it, though. Especially the canoe part. πŸ˜‰
    Ok, maybe four regulars…

  3. Stefanie says:

    The canoe and the garden sound wonderful. The kitchen organization, not so much. If you run out of things on your to-do list though, you can come over and work on mine πŸ˜‰

  4. Quillhill says:

    Yes, A History of Reading is really good.

  5. Aria says:

    Great idea – In a way that makes a lot more sense to me than Lauren Winner's giving up all books for Lent (speaking of which – I saw her speak once and I don't think anyone asked her if she had done it again since – it would be interesting to know) – though I do think in her case that giving them all up was very beneficial for her.
    Heres hoping your own lenten reading fast is as beneficial to you as hers was to her.
    Oh and P.S. I happen to be a fairly detail oriented person and Leviticus is always where I hit a brick wall – but here's hoping your own experience may be better. (And I'll also admit that the last time I actually tried to make it through Leviticus I was in highschool, so maybe I could do it now at 24…)

  6. Milan says:

    As an athiest, I agree with you that the Bible can make for interesting reading. That's especially true when you consider it historically and in terms of the impact it has had in various circumstances around the world.
    Also engaging is the examination of the textual history of the Bible: which bits have been included and excluded, how it has been translated, and the like.

  7. Michelle says:

    I've made it through Leviticus a few times but that was only because I was a hyper over-achieving Evangelical teenager. πŸ˜‰
    But I agree that the Bible has some fascinating stuff that most people don't think about – kinky sex, intrigue, mind-numbing violence – as well as all the good stuff too.
    Happy reading.

  8. Wil Cone says:

    A History of Reading is on my (growing) to-be-read shelf.

Comments are closed.