Shuffle Meme

Here’s a fun little meme for all you digital music fans. Via Coming to the Quiet (who is not so quiet today).

Instructions: Go to your music player of choice and put it on shuffle. Say the following questions aloud, and press play. Use the song title as the answer to the question. NO CHEATING.

How does the world see you?Miami by Rumba Calzada. So, like, I’m hot and humid…?

Will I have a happy life?La Cavaleria de Napoles from Suite Espagnole by Gaspar Sanz. Yes, I could have a happy life living in a nice suite in Spain with a chivalrous Neapolitan…

What do my friends really think of me?Primera Danza Española by Manuel de Falla. So… they think I’m a Spanish dancer? Just as long as they don’t ask me to do the splits (a jumprope reference that only the girls will get).

What do people secretly think of me?Son Para Nuestros Hijos by the Puentes Brothers. I don’t care what this means, I just LOVE this song. Here, listen to it:

http://www.divshare.com/flash/playlist?myId=10013811-785

How can I be happy?Soleares from Suite Andaluza by Celedonio Romero. Spain again. Ok, this is getting ridiculous. I need to call my travel agent.

What should I do with my life?Prayer to Hanuman by Krishna Das. Hmm, let me get back to you on that one.

What is some good advice for me?Corrido de Cananea by Linda Ronstadt. So, I should avoid getting drunk and ending up in a Mexican prison? Shouldn’t be a problem considering I don’t drink!

How will I be remembered?La Rhumba Primera by the Puentes Brothers. First Spanish dance now the rhumba. Obviously I was born to boogie.

What is my signature dancing song?The Trumpet Shall Sound from Handel’s Messiah. Uh huh.

What do I think my current theme song is?Variations on a Theme by Mozart by Fernando Sor. With no lyrics there’s not much to go on here, except that it’s more music from Spain.

What does everyone else think my current theme song is?Mon Coeur s’Ouvre a ta Voix from Samson et Dalila by Saint-Saens. So, they think I’m in love with the voices in my head?

What song will play at my funeral?Non Invenientes Jesum performed by the Benedictine Nuns at the Abbey of Regina Laudis. “Not finding Jesus”?!? AAAAAAAAAUUUUUGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!!

What type of men/women do you like?EightLessons for Guitar by Dionisio Aguado. ???

What is my day going to be like?Noah’s Dove by 10,000 Maniacs. Ten thousand maniacs? Perhaps I should skip the mall today…

9 comments on “Shuffle Meme

  1. A says:

    Mon Coeur s'Ouvre a ta Voix is one of my favorites. Wonderful.
    You gotta whole lotta Spanish goin' on….

  2. Stefanie says:

    Love Son Para Nuestros Hijos! Makes me want to go salsa dancing!

  3. Sylvia says:

    A: I don't even know what CD that was from… Oh, “Maria Callas: Voice of the Century.” I'm afraid I'm pretty opera-illiterate (despite my parents' and the CBC's best efforts). I did see Gounod's “Faust” once and was blown away. I think you have to be there.
    Stefanie: I know! They're awesome.

  4. Sylvia says:

    Oh, and while I was at a bookstore today, guess what was playing? Yup, Spanish guitar music. Is God trying to tell me something?

  5. Julie says:

    Hmm, this makes me wish I had an iPod, or whatever it is that you shuffle.

  6. Sylvia says:

    Hey, Julie! Glad you're back. I shuffled my Creative Zen Xtra 30GB (yes, gigabyte) jukebox. Actually I don't recommend it; I received two duds before I got one that worked. Next time I think I'll go with iRiver.

  7. Sylvia says:

    An update (in case anyone is interested in the minutiae of my life): The results of this meme inspired me to pick up my long-neglected classical guitar (made in Spain, of course) and I played astonishingly well considering how out of practice I am. Spooky.

  8. Stefanie says:

    I love classical guitar. Someday I hope to learn to play.

  9. Sylvia says:

    I hope to learn to play some day too! They say it's the most difficult instrument (at least in Western music) and I don't doubt it. Piano is a breeze in comparison.

Comments are closed.