Kiss Me, I’m Irish

Saint Patrick by Lisa Laughy, Ninth Wave DesignsYou wouldn’t know it if you saw my permanent tan but I am indeed a daughter of Eire (technically a grand-daughter, but who counts chromosomes on a day like this?). Even if you’re not Irish you have to admire Saint Patrick for challenging a people who had enslaved him and who even the Romans didn’t dare to fight. Bibliophiles can also admire him for bringing literacy to Ireland and helping to keep the flame of classical literature alive during the turmoil following the fall of Rome. I don’t know if he is the patron saint of bookworms, but he should be.

For a brief summary of his life and works, see the Patron Saints Index; for more see Wikipedia; and for a detailed hagiography, the Catholic Encyclopedia. His Confession is still in print (1500 years later) and his Cry of the Deer or Lorica (“breastplate”) is a much beloved prayer among Irish Catholics.

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day everyone!

Saint Patrick, pray for us, especially for those who are not lucky enough to be Irish.


For more wonderful Celtic artwork, see Lisa Laughy’s Ninth Wave Designs.

7 comments on “Kiss Me, I’m Irish

  1. Stefanie says:

    Happy St Patrick's Day to you!

  2. Wil Cone says:

    As a non-Irish, I'm just green with envy! (sorry, couldn't resist πŸ˜‰

  3. Sylvia says:

    Is that why you painted your office green…?

  4. Wil Cone says:

    Yes indeed, you can tell I'm an Irish-wanna-be: a green room and a wife named Erin…

  5. Sylvia says:

    LOL! πŸ˜€

  6. Quillhill says:

    I thought Saint Patrick was celebrated because he brought the shamrock shake to Ireland?

  7. Sylvia says:

    I don't think they would thank him for that! πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.