Dorian Gray Round-up

The baton has passed and Ella at Box of Books has chosen the next Slaves of Golconda book: The Virginian: A Horseman of the Plains by Owen Wister (check out the cute cover painting on this Penguin edition). Before I put on my chaps and break out the canned beans, I will pull together the various Oscar Wilde links that I found useful.


The Norton Critical Edition of The Picture of Dorian Gray contained a wealth of background material and both versions of the novel.

Here are the full texts of the 13-chapter, 1890 and 20-chapter, 1891 versions.

Wikipedia articles on Oscar Wilde and The Picture of Dorian Gray (explains the two versions).

Standing Ovations, an extensive fan site from Germany.

More links from Stefanie at So Many Books.

Finally, our discussion at the MetaxuCafé forum.


Keep an eye on the left sidebar for resources for next read, and plan to join the conversation on April 30th.

3 comments on “Dorian Gray Round-up

  1. It was my first “Slaves of..” experience, but I enjoyed it thoroughly, and will head out directly to find The Virginian and gird myself for the next literary battle (lol).
    DNW

  2. Ella says:

    Wow, Sylvia, my link's cover is definately not that cute (only one horse).

  3. Sylvia says:

    I especially like the way the horse is looking back at the viewer. What is it thinking? “Oh, there go those sappy humans again… The things I put up with!”

Comments are closed.