Literature I’m Actually Qualified to Read

It’s been a while since I read much genre literature. I had my sci-fi and Agatha Christie phases when I was younger, but these days I pretty much stick to the canon when it comes to fiction. But thanks to Much Madness is Divinest Sense and Scientist, Interrupted I may have found a genre I can relate to. Enter Lab Lit, fiction that is based on the lives and work of scientists.

The Lab Lit website is working on a list of novels, films, plays, and television programs that fit the Lab Lit criteria (hey, we’re scientists, we need to classify things!). One that caught my eye was Quite a Year for Plums, by Bailey White, about “a plant pathologist [who] learns how science should be used to understand nature rather than to conquer and master it.” The selection of biology-related titles is pretty small but sure to grow as more books are nominated. If you know of any Lab Lit not on their list, do send them the title or contribute a review to be posted on the site.

LabLit.com: the culture of science in fiction & fact

4 comments on “Literature I’m Actually Qualified to Read

  1. Milan says:

    Speaking of “Much Madness is Divinest Sense,” did you know that many Emily Dickinson poems can be sung to the tune of the Gilligan's Island theme? Try it with “Because I Could not Stop for Death.”

  2. Stefanie says:

    My inner nerd is doing a Snoopy dance of joy πŸ™‚

  3. Ella says:

    Oooh, try singing Dickinson poems to “The Yellow Rose of Texas”! (My favorite after-2-glasses-of-wine party trick.)

Comments are closed.