Bleak House by BBC

When Danielle at A Work in Progress mentioned that Monster… I mean, Masterpiece Theatre would be airing the BBC production of Dickens’ Bleak House, I thought, “That’s nice, but it doesn’t fit in with my grand reading plan; I haven’t even started the Epic of Gilgamesh yet!” Charles Dance as Tulkinghorn in Bleak HouseHowever, this evening I found myself with my Latin homework done and no further ambitions for the day so I tuned in. Let me tell you, it was riveting. What a marvellous cast, including the devilishly handsome, “when he good, he’s very good; when he’s bad, he’s better,” Mr. Charles Dance. (Is it just me or is it getting warm in here?)

I haven’t read the book so I can’t critique it as an adaptation, but as a stand-alone drama it is top quality, just as we expect from the BBC. If you missed the first episode and haven’t read the book, do read the synopsis before attempting episode two. Already, after one instalment, schemes, suspicions, and entanglements abound. With another 13 hours to go I can only imagine how juicy things will get. I might just have to interrupt my orderly reading program and give Dickens a try.

Masterpiece Theatre: Bleak House

BBC: Bleak House

5 comments on “Bleak House by BBC

  1. Mez says:

    Just popping in from the Charles Dance website to say hi and to recommend putting 'Bleak House' on your reading list. I read it in my youth so can't say how true the BBC production is to it; all I remember now is how intimidating it was on its face (67 chapters long?!), a fact that isn't mitigated by its densely populated cast of characters and Dickens' complex writing style. It required far more concentration than I'm usually willing to give a book…but I enjoyed it thoroughly. 'Bleak House' is considered to be one of Dickens' best novels and I concur wholeheartedly.
    Keep watching, there's plenty more of Tulkinghorn to hotten things up!

  2. Sylvia says:

    Hi Mez, thanks for visiting. That's great, I'm looking forward to more of the suspicious Mr. Tulkinghorn. And I definitely will have to read the book.
    By the way, if there are any Charles Dance fanciers out there, do check out Mez' great fan page (click on her name).

  3. Lidia says:

    I have read the Bleak House several times in my youth and I liked it very much. For me it is the best Dikkens' book. I can't wait when I can see the movie. The little episodes and the photos with Charles Dance I have seen are wonderful.
    Lida, Russia-Canada

  4. Sharlie says:

    I read Bleak House in preparation for seeing it. It was the first Dicken's novel I managed to finish.
    I could see Charles Dance in that role so clearly.
    And you're right “when he's bad, he's better.

  5. Sylvia says:

    Thanks, Lida and Sharlie. I will definitely read it.

What do you think?

