CODE: Building the Bridge of Literacy

CODE: Building the Bridge of Literacy

Knowlton Nash appeared in my mailbox the other day to tell me about a Canadian charity I hadn’t heard of before. Since I grew up watching Mr. Nash read the nightly news to me I was inclined to listened to what he had to say. Plus the envelope said there was a bookmark enclosed (pictured above)—how could I resist?

CODE: Building the Bridge of LiteracyPapa Nash is the Honorary Chair of CODE, a registered charity that provides hundreds of thousands of books, many donated by publishers, to children in developing countries. It also promotes literacy by working with local literacy organizations to provide training for teachers and librarians, furniture for libraries, and even carts for donkey-powered mobile libraries.

I’m sure I don’t have to tell well-informed book lovers about the social, economic, and health benefits of literacy, not to mention its joys. I will tell you that every donation is not just matched but tripled by CIDA (Canadian International Development Agency). So what are you waiting for? Find out what your donation can accomplish.

In the UK? See Book Aid International.

