Innie or Outie?

From an oldie-but-goodie article on “Caring for your Introvert” by Jonathan Rauch:

Are introverts arrogant? Hardly. I suppose this common misconception has to do with our being more intelligent, more reflective, more independent, more level-headed, more refined, and more sensitive than extroverts. Also, it is probably due to our lack of small talk, a lack that extroverts often mistake for disdain. We tend to think before talking, whereas extroverts tend to think by talking, which is why their meetings never last less than six hours.

Heh. All I can say is that it’s a darn good thing extroverts don’t know (and don’t care) what introverts are thinking!

via KaneCitizen (ISTJ)

Find your Myers-Briggs type here.

8 comments on “Innie or Outie?

  1. Marissa says:

    Ha, no kidding! πŸ™‚

  2. Stefanie says:

    That was a fun “test.” I got INTJ. The Rauch article was wonderful. Now I understand why a particular co-worker drives me bonkers. Ask her a simple question and 15 minutes of her non-stop jabbering later she might finally get to the answer.

  3. Sylvia says:

    Welcome to a very exclusive club! Only 1% of women are INTJ (and 3% of men). And I believe all of them have blogs.
    Yes, that article also helped me understand what it means to think out loud (sounds simple but I never got it before). I wonder if it could change over history, the way people switched to reading silently? One can hope…

  4. Stefanie says:

    Wow, I feel so honored. Hmm, interesting thought. But I wonder if audio books can counteract it?

  5. Julie says:

    Really? Only 1%? Well, I guess that makes up for my right-handedness and O-positive blood! And I believe it that we all have blogs.

  6. Michelle says:

    I'm actually INFP — though pretty much on the line in all areas except P and J.
    However, because my mother is one of those hyper emotional “F”s, I reacted by becoming as much of a T as possible. Makes me either a very empathetic T or a very rational F.
    A friend of mine who's an extrovert was definitely one of those “out-loud” thinkers. At one point when she was staying with me I finally yelled at her “my god, do you NOT understand what INTERNAL monologue is?!”

  7. Greetings – Great bit on the MBTI! Have you seen the Bloginality website? What I love is the brief bit for each type that applies MBTI to blogging such as this for the INTP:
    “Because routines aren't your strong point, you might be more likely to work on the concept of how to do a blog, but not be as excited to keep it up.”
    Which explains precisely why I am here reading Bookworm when I should be working on my own blog!

  8. Sylvia says:

    Yes, in fact I found that little test through the Bloginality page. I love the INTJ title: Mastermind. Bwa ha ha!! Join with me and we will plot the overthrow of extrovertism and replace it with a regime of required reading, diligent journalling, and thinking-before-speaking!! πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.