Behind Every Great Man, or, R-e-s-p-e-c-t

This is my idea of romance:

To the encouragement, advice, judgement and taste [my wife] has always made available to me, I must now also recognize that the nearly forty years of devotion she has shown to me and to our children has made possible my own career. Now she has added to her previous tasks those of a full-time nurse. There is no one to whom I owe more and I hope she can find in my offering of this book to her some small evidence of how completely I recognize that.

—J.M. Roberts (1928–2003), from the preface toThe New History of the World, 4th (and last) edition

I think Aretha would approve.

3 comments on “Behind Every Great Man, or, R-e-s-p-e-c-t

  1. deb says:

    Given the full extent of his integrity and respect for his wife, I am ready to accept all that this man has to say about the history of the world.

  2. Sylvia says:

    Yes, and he is very clear in his preface about his particular historical philosophy, so you know where he's coming from.

Comments are closed.