“Nineteenth-Century Anti-Catholic Discourses: The Case of Charlotte Brontë”

Nineteenth-Century Anti-Catholic Discourses: The Case of Charlotte BrontëJust about the only problem I have with Charlotte Brontë is the Catholic-bashing sprinkled liberally throughout Villette, so I was happy to discover the recently published Nineteenth-Century Anti-Catholic Discourses: The Case of Charlotte Brontë by Diana Peschier. The introduction, available on the publisher’s website, is somewhat apologetic, but apparently Brontë’s anti-Catholic comments really were tame in comparison with the anti-Catholic literature that was popular in England at the time. I suppose one can hardly blame them, what with the poorly-disguised grandiose papal dreams of world domination, but it still rubs me the wrong way.

via BrontëBlog (where else?)

4 comments on ““Nineteenth-Century Anti-Catholic Discourses: The Case of Charlotte Brontë”

  1. Talmida says:

    Patrick O'Brian and his Jack Aubrey/Stephen Maturin series helped me make peace with this period of English history. Although Jack is the typical English anti-catholic, his best friend Stephen is a devout catholic from Ireland, so the story is told from both points of view, to a certain extent.
    Over the course of the series they discuss the some few catholic officers in the Navy who falsely take the oath abjuring the Pope (which was required of all higher ranks), and who settle it with their consciences later.
    Reason #4782531 for reading O'Brian.
    😉

  2. Sylvia says:

    Hmm, sounds interesting. Should I rent M & C or read the book first?

  3. Talmida says:

    Hmmm…
    The movie M & C is about the 8th book in the series, I think (Far Side of the World) and doesn't have any religion in it. I would start with the book, but rent the movie if you're having a hard time picturing people on board. The movie won't wreck the book, certainly.
    It does spend a lot of time with nautical jargon, but I never had much trouble just skimming over it.

  4. Sylvia says:

    Ah, I was confused because the first book in the series is Master & Commander. I guess that makes a more exciting movie title. The nautical jargon sounds like fun. (Although I also enjoy “Move that… thing! And… that other thing!” [Vizzini])

Comments are closed.