Lumpers and Splitters

There are two kinds of biologists: lumpers and splitters. The lumpers say, “You’ve seen one sphagnum bog, you’ve seen them all,” and the splitters say, “These lizards look exactly like those other lizards except that they have one extra scale on their left big toe, therefore they must be an entirely new species!!” I tend towards being a splitter, and this seems to have carried over into my blogging. I don’t know about you but I think my categories menu (left sidebar) is getting out of hand. Even I have trouble using it, so it’s time for a change.

I’ve noticed recently that some book bloggers don’t even use categories. I’m afraid that is something my system-loving INTJ brain would not tolerate, but perhaps I can find a happy medium between every post having its own category and uncategorized chaos. This is just to warn you (particularly feed subscribers) that you may experience some déjà post here while I sort (or rather, unsort) things out. Any suggestions on logical book blog categories or categorizing philosophies would be welcome.

5 comments on “Lumpers and Splitters

  1. Julie says:

    Despite my INTJ-ness and love of system and order I've never bothered with categories. Well, Blogger doesn't offer them, but even if they did, I wouldn't. I don't need another thing like that to obsess over, and I almost never click on other people's categories anyway.
    Thanks to your post, though, I decided to have a look at your categories. I started with bibliolumbricus sylvestris in hopes of discovering what it means. I still don't know, but I discovered another thing we have in common, my dear blogodoppelgänger: we're both amateur pianists! And are you—like me—pining away for Radio Two?

  2. Fred says:

    Nice to meet a fellow INTJ blogger. We introverts have to stick together!

  3. Sylvia says:

    Hi Fred! Yes, introverts unite! But, uh, not too close! 😉

  4. Julie says:

    So, that must make me B. julius. I like it.

  5. Sylvia says:

    Oo, you even know how to abbreviate scientific names. Are you sure you're not me?
    And I suppose you've heard the happy news about the CBC? I think there will be rejoicing a mari usque ad mare!

Comments are closed.