Greatest Philosopher

Now this looks like fun. The BBC is continuing the “Vote for the Greatest ______” trend with Greatest Philosopher. Unlike some other similar ventures I doubt this one will suffer ballot box stuffing by organized political forces (ahem). I’m looking forward to reading the information and getting a quick and dirty introduction to philosophy in the process. Who would you vote for?

via rogueclassicism

6 comments on “Greatest Philosopher

  1. Stefanie says:

    Montaigne isn't on the short list! So disappointing. Now I'm going to have to think for a bit before I cast my vote. Hmmm…

  2. Sylvia says:

    Just going by the information presented on the website I think I have to go with Aquinas, since I agree with Teresa of Avila that “reason and faith are both appeals of the soul.” Plato, Socrates, and Kant are my runners-up, and Kierkegaard gets an honorable mention. I think Nietzsche gets my award for most evil philosopher and Schopenhauer gets the most depressing philosopher award. πŸ˜‰
    It's cool that Hildegard of Bingen was among the nominees. I don't know how they missed Lao Tzu. It really should be called the Greatest Western Philosopher. Apparently this was the last day of voting, so we'll know the result soon.

  3. Sylvia, do you know where people usually go to buy a copy of the Summa Theologica? Or is the $200 set on Amazon the only real option?
    I scour the used bookstores of Victoria with little success.

  4. Sylvia says:

    I'm afraid I don't know. I'm surprised to hear it's that expensive. No doubt there are old translations available for free on Project Gutenberg and the CCEL (see links on the right). All I can suggest is to try ABEbooks and Bookfinder.com from time to time. Good luck!

  5. OK thanks – I'm going to need to save up for the Amazon set. It's the same text as Project Gutenberg's, but it's nice to have an actual book that one can mark up.

  6. (btw bookfinder is cool – thanks for the tip).

Comments are closed.