Temptation

Oscar Wilde wrote, “I couldn’t help it. I can resist everything except temptation.” Today I couldn’t help making some unplanned purchases when I stumbled upon a 55%-off sale at a used book store. I went to the store for In the Avant Garde: The Prophetic Catholicism of [Bishop] Remi De Roo (which will go well with the other rabble-rousing-Catholic reading I’ve been doing lately), and I stayed for the sale. Most of the shelves were lightly burdened with mass-market paperbacks, but there were a few islets of nonfiction here and there. I came away with an interesting little mix: The Rise of the Novel by Ian Watt (which will complement my recently purchased Deceit, Desire, and the Novel: Self and Other in Literary Structure;Β Medieval Women:A Social History of Women in England 450–1500 (which will complement my other books on women’s history); and a bright red cloth bound 1928 edition of Plato’s Republic from Scribner’s “The Modern Student’s Library” (which looks like a nice collectible little series). I’m not sure where the book trade would be without great sales and the flimsy rationalizations of incurable bibliophiles!

5 comments on “Temptation

  1. Talmida says:

    My mother adores the little hardback paperbacks. She bought hers in university (ummm….50 years ago?) and they are still in fabulous condition. They are her favorite books for size and shape. She & my Dad are off on a cruise up the Danube, starting at the Black Sea, so she and I are going to the second-hand bookstore this week to stock up on things to read that she can then set free. I finally registered on BookCrossing, so we can put stickers and she can release books in Bucharest, Budapest, Vienna…

  2. Sylvia says:

    Yes, the Plato is the perfect size for holding in the hand. I wish all non-reference books were this size. It would make reading in bed or bath so much more comfortable! (Makes me think I should add another category on reading ergonomics, but I've already got categories up the wazoo.) Of course some day I may be glad of the larger type of modern books!
    I should remember Bookcrossing next time I want to get rid of some beat-up old books. I did once find (online) a book released near where I live but was too lazy to go catch it. That is very cool that your mom will be “releasing” some across the pond!

  3. Talmida says:

    I have to admit, my eyes are already having trouble with fine print — I'm not quite at the special large print books, but I often will choose between two books by the size of the type.
    πŸ˜‰ Bifocals, here I come!

  4. Cipriano says:

    HAH!
    So you are a used bookstore/sale addict too huh? I am hopeless in this arena of life. There is an annual used book sale in my neighborhood and when I leave there, the trunk is full. Not only with books for myself, but also with books I want to give to others.
    And incidentally, your comment on the first treasure you nabbed there… it is my experience that oftentimes the best books of a religious nature are those of a “rabble-rousing” kind.
    All the best to you in future gem-finding.

  5. Sylvia says:

    Actually I've cut way back on opportunistic used book shopping, opting for a more deliberate and selective method of building my personal library. The rabble-rousing book was on my list but the others were a genuine lapse. Mea culpa.

Comments are closed.