The Most Constant of Friends

Books are the quietest and most constant of friends;
they are the most accessible and wisest of counsellors,
and the most patient of teachers.

—Charles W. Eliot

As seen on the bookmark that came with my copy of “Wheelock’s Latin Reader.” Now if only my Latin textbooks would arrive then I could start making some sense of the language…

10 comments on “The Most Constant of Friends

  1. Talmida says:

    WHOO HOO!! You're really doing it!! Congratulations, Sylvia!

  2. Sylvia says:

    Thanks, although it will be a couple more weeks before the other books get here. It's fun trying to read the bits in the reader from the Vulgate Bible. “Quid autem vides festucan in oculo fratris tui traben autem quae in oculo tue est non consideras? … Hypocrita, eice primum trabem de oculo tuo, et tunc perspicies ut educas festucam de oculo fratris tui.”

  3. deb says:

    I am interested to know what the first step was for your Latin learning. Where did you start? With the reader? With grammar? Are the links and books listed here everything one needs to learn Latin? Do you participate in an online Latin group-learning web page or chat room? Is there such a thing?

  4. Sylvia says:

    I am just starting so I can't really say from experience, but what I've read is that Wheelock's Latin is the standard text for learning Latin. The spinoff books (workbook, Grote's guide, etc.) are not exactly necessary but they're very helpful, especially if you're learning on your own. All the Wheelock books are designed to work seamlessly together, so I will just follow their lead.
    There's also online instructional material, audio files, and as you say, study groups and chat rooms, some of which is also geared towards the Wheelock system. The Latin links section on my sidebar should take you to all that. I think it's possible to learn entirely online without spending a dime, but I prefer books (obviously!).

  5. Sylvia says:

    Check it out: Latin-themed stationery! Woohoo!
    http://www.cafepress.com/animaaltera/270069

  6. Talmida says:

    Oh, man, that looks like so much fun! Now I'm jealous!! I want to brush up my Latin!
    Of course it will probably drive all the Hebrew from my brain if I do.
    *sigh*
    So much to learn, such a small mind.
    😉

  7. deb says:

    I think learning Latin would be helpful. I wish I would have taken it in high school, but so many other things seemed like more fun. The Hebrew learning is not going well. I think I need to have an in person teacher. Reading Hebrew is one thing, pronouncing it is quite another. It would not take much to drive it from MY head at this point.

  8. Susan says:

    One of these days I want to relearn the little I learned in the first place. I have half a shelf of Latin textbooks discarded from the curriculum center a few years back, and an entire box of very old Latin grammars and readers out in the garage from the library discard table, but out of all those, I don't believe I have a single Wheelock.

  9. Sandra says:

    I have to say I do wish I'd taken my two years of Latin a bit more seriously. Nobody told me how beautiful it was or how useful for working out the root meanings of many English and Romance language words it might have been in later life.
    I admire your spirit Sylvia and hope you'll share your progress with us!

  10. Sylvia says:

    I certainly will share my progress, though you'll all have to dust off your Latin books to understand me! 😉

Comments are closed.